Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg

Polenta topped with duck confit and mushroom ragu and a fried egg

Polenta topped with duck confit and mushroom ragu and a fried egg

Happy Thanksgiving week dear readers! I just realized I haven’t posted in a while, so while this is not a very Thanksgiving-y dish, it is delicious and can probably be made into a post-Thanksgiving meal by using turkey instead of the duck confit legs. After getting caught in the storm in Chicago two weekends ago, and given the cloudy/rainy weather in LA, I’ve just been spending a lot of time under a blanket with a cup of hot tea, trying to warm up  the past week. Thankfully, the sun is shinning once again in LA and I have a lot more energy for blog posts, and fridge clean-up, etc. For those not as fortunate weather-wise, please stay warm and I hope your Thanksgiving travel will go as smoothly as possible.

If you’re still looking for Thanksgiving dishes, here are some of my favorites on the blog: roasted brussels sprouts, gingery green beans, pumpkin cookies, 2-in-1 pumpkin pecan pie, pumpkin mascarpone pie, and bourbon pecan pie.

A few weeks ago, I read a blog post on how to cook Thanksgiving for under $30 that recommended buying canned potatoes (!!!) for $0.79. Unless I am missing something in my ignorance, I don’t see why would anyone buy the cans when the potatoes are 49 cents a pound (at Trader Joe’s, same price as Dominick’s last year) or less at produce stores. Green beans and sweet potatoes will also be on sale not only at produce stores, but also at the big chain grocery stores. Last year, I paid 99 cents/lb for green beans (Dominick’s) and 19 cents/lb for sweet potatoes (Dominick’s card price + just 4u discount, the store has computers you can use to add the just 4u deals if you do not have a smartphone). Just shop around and you’re sure to find some good deals. End of rant on canned potatoes 🙂

Recipe notes: I made the confit legs using a modified version of this recipe, but you can use any recipe, or even buy them at the store if available. You could also substitute with roasted chicken/turkey or omit it for a vegetarian dish. Poached eggs would also be nice.

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • shredded meat from 2 duck confit legs
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • ~1/2 pound mushrooms, sliced (I used shiitake, but chanterelles would be very nice too if you can find some)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • a few sprigs thyme
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded compte or gruyere cheese
  • 2 eggs, fried
  • polenta: 1 1/2 cups water, 1 tsp salt, 3/4 cups corn meal

Start the polenta. Bring the water and salt to boil. Whisk in the corn meal slowly to prevent lump formation. Reduce the heat to a simmer and cook for ~10 min, or until the mixture thickens to your taste (I like it a little on the soft side) and it doesn’t taste like raw cornmeal anymore (package says 5 min, mine was not ready so I simmered it on low for 10-15 minutes). Add more water if necessary.

polenta

polenta

Heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add shallot and saute until softened (a few minutes). Add mushrooms and cook until partially softened (2 min).

mushrooms!

mushrooms!

Add garlic, thyme, and cook until aromatic (~1 minute). Continue cooking until mushrooms are fully softened and browning (~ 5 min). Add the confit, wine, and simmer for about 5 minutes or until the wine thickens and the confit is warmed through. Season with salt and pepper, and remove thyme sprigs before serving.

Divide polenta between two plates.

polenta3

polenta

Add mushrooms and confit mixture to the polenta. Top with the shredded cheese.  polenta2-2

Add the fried egg and serve. Enjoy with a glass of your leftover wine 😉

Wishing everyone a wonderful holiday weekend with lots of delicious food and good company!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg

  1. What a great dish, I love the addition of the fried egg.

  2. chef mimi says:

    I could eat this every day.

  3. I could eat it every day too. I love polenta (virtually grits to me) and eggs- and throw some duck confit on there- I definitely wouldn’t omit that! Yum!!

  4. I love the glass of wine after I open a bottle for using in a recipe 🙂 Woooo this looks great! I love the umami combination of duck confit and mushrooms. And polenta — I love it too but I always forget to incorporate it into my dinners!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    I love polenta. I am in a minority of 1 in our house. This is a pity as the dish looks delicious.
    Best,
    Conor

    • I guess polenta is not very popular. We used to eat it a lot in Romania, but a lot of people were confused about it when we served it at our International pot luck dinners in college. I think it used to be the poor people’s bread alternative, especially when bread was rationed by the Communist party, but now I believe it’s making a comeback as a traditional side dish! Since the husband seemed okay with it, I will try to incorporate it more often in our dinners 😉

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

