Iced Pumpkin Cookies

iced pumpkin cookies

iced pumpkin cookies

It is the season…no, it’s not winter yet, despite all the stores who are trying to trick you…it is pumpkin season! I am personally disturbed by the commercialization of holidays in this country. Santas and Christmas trees were already taking over the stores even before Halloween was over! And no, I am not a grinch, I love Christmas, I just like to take my time in getting there and enjoy the foods along the way 🙂 I personally do not cook much with pumpkin. Due to its popularity in Thanksgiving pies, I have made two pies that I enjoy: mascarpone pumpkin and pecan pumpkin. Otherwise, my pumpkin cooking is minimal, and I surprised myself with a desire to cook something with pumpkin recently. I blame it on the cute pumpkin displays at Trader Joe’s 🙂 I debated making this pumpkin bread, which is very delicious by the way, but decided instead to try something different and attempt making some cookies. As you know by now, I love variety 🙂

Recipe notes: I picked up a can of organic pumpkin from Trader Joe’s which was a lighter color than I am used to and it might not be as sweet as other canned pumpkins. The cookies turned out a little less sweet than I intended, therefore I decided to ice them. Everyone loves icing, but if you don’t feel like it, feel free to just increase the amount of sugar in the recipe.

Ingredients (makes 20 cookies):

  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup pecan pieces (optional)
  • Icing: 1 Tb milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 Tb melted butter, 2/4 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat.

Combine the pumpkin with the spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves) and salt in a small saucepan. Heat over medium heat until the pumpkin turns darker and you smell the delicious aroma of the spices (~ 5 minutes).

spiced pumpkin

spiced pumpkin

Meanwhile, beat the butter with the white and brown sugar. Add the egg and bit for about a minute.

beat butter with the sugar. beat the egg

beat butter with the sugar. beat the egg

Beat in the vanilla and pumpkin mixture. Mix in the flour, baking soda and baking powder. Stir in the pecan pieces.

cookie dough

cookie dough

Drop about a tablespoon of the batter at a time onto the prepared baking sheet.

cookies ready to be baked

cookies ready to be baked

Bake cookies for about 15 minutes, or until they’re golden brown and cooked through. Remove cookies from the oven and let cool.

baked cookies

baked cookies

When the cookies have cooled down, prepare the icing by whisking all the ingredients together. Ice the cookies! I just used my mini-whipp to drop the icing onto the cookies, but you can of course do this in a more controlled manner and even get artistic with it 🙂

iced pumpkin cookies

iced pumpkin cookies

Enjoy with some coffee/tea or even milk and delight in the flavors of fall. It is interesting how it’s not as much the pumpkin, but the combination of spices that reminds us of fall. Not surprisingly, Starbucks made a fortune by selling pumpkin-less pumpkin lattes by just using the spices 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Iced Pumpkin Cookies

  1. I lllovveee pumpkin anything! This looks great!

  2. Yes, so true! I made a batch of pumpkin granola last week that only had a small amount of pumpkin puree (otherwise I’m sure it would be too much moisture) in it, but the spices were really what makes it taste like a pumpkiny treat.

    These look awesome! Soft and yummy. I love your science behind cooking/baking and the toasty step of cooking the pumpkin with the spices! That will make them so much more fragrant than the usual, I’m sure. Yum!

    • Thank you! they were soft and yummy indeed. I like the moistness and softness that comes from using fruit/veggie purees in desserts. I think I am going to adopt the pumpkin pre-cooking for most of my desserts now thanks to Cook’s Illustrated. I made a pumpkin cake to finish off the can and it taste a little like raw pumpkin…at least to me, husband said it was great since the spices dominate 🙂 Pumpkin granola does sound really good. I should look into making my own granola as well. maybe borrow some ideas from you 😉

  3. Stephanie says:

    looks tasty!
    but what about pumpkin soup? and mashed pumpkin? or “gratin de citrouille”? there are plenty of ways to cook pumpkin 🙂
    I have not tried it yet, but a lot of people love pumpkin seeds (roasted)

  4. Pingback: Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

