Burrata, Tomatoes and Basil Pesto Pizza

Burrata, Tomatoes, and Basil Pesto Pizza

Burrata, Tomatoes, and Basil Pesto Pizza

This is another delicious pizza recipe making use of my basil plant, which is still growing strong! Every few weeks I do have to pick up some of the big leaves so it doesn’t weigh it down too much. Sometimes, it’s just a few leaves that I sprinkle over tomatoes like in this side salad, other times it’s closer to 1 cup, which I muddle into delicious fresh basil pesto. However, this recipe came by in an attempt to use some burrata we had in the fridge. I first thought about a basic margherita pizza with burrata instead of the mozzarella, but making a tomato-based sauce didn’t sound too appealing at the moment. I used to always have a big jar of tomato sauce in my fridge, but after a few went moldy, I stopped buying them. It may sound like I dislike tomato sauce, but I don’t, it’s just that everyone uses it so often on pastas and pizzas, that I find myself in need of some variety from time to time. And what better substitute than some flavorful basil pesto!

Ingredients (1 small pizza):

  • 1 pizza dough from here
  • 4 Tb basil pesto
  • 1 medium tomato, sliced (~ 5-6 slices)
  • 1 burrata ball
  • a few basil leaves

Once the dough is ready, preheat the oven to 450 F. Since I lack a pizza stone, I used my cast iron pan. Roll out the dough and place in into the pan. Bake until almost cooked through, about 10 minutes. Remove from oven and spread the pesto over the dough. Top with tomato slices, then carefully break the burrata into pieces. Sprinkle the chopped basil leaves on top and bake until cooked through, the tomatoes are soft, and the cheese is melted (~5 more minutes).

Let cool for a little bit, then slice and serve warm! We enjoyed this with a nice spinach side salad.

We also had this on top of bread slices and it was delicious as well, so this is a good alternative if you do not have time to prepare the pizza dough 😉

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Burrata, Tomatoes and Basil Pesto Pizza

  1. My French Heaven says:

    Magnifique!

  2. cityjulep says:

    sounds just delish… perfect for a Friday nigh meal… lovely post..sarah

  3. YUMMM I want!!

    Need to go to TJs for another basil 🙂

  4. Pingback: Pizza Invasion: LA Concept to Open 20 San Diego Shops – Eater National | lydianixocn

  5. Pingback: FDA trans fat ban: Proposal makes clear no amount is safe – Los Angeles Times | lydianixocn

  6. Pingback: The Life of Pie – LA Magazine | lydianixocn

  7. Pingback: Restaurants open on Thanksgiving, offer Black Friday meal deals – Los Angeles Times | lydianixocn

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

