Fridge Leftovers Dinner: Baked Cod with Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Tomato Basil Salad

oven-fried breaded cod with roasted Brussels sprouts and tomato basil salad

oven-fried breaded cod with roasted Brussels sprouts and tomato basil salad

It so happened that the seafood counter employee refused to sell us just the amount of cod we wanted and we had to leave home with a whole fillet of cod. Since I don’t like reheating leftover cooked fish, I decided not to double the oven-roasted cod recipe, but instead to try to find some other use for the cod. I debated fish and chips, but I really don’t like frying and using so much oil, so instead I decided to make a breaded baked cod. This was also a great opportunity to finish my Brussels sprouts and tomatoes from the fridge, as well as some of the basil leaves that were weighing down my basil plant.

Speaking of Brussels sprouts: if you like them you should try to visit a local Trader Joe’s and get one of their stalks while they last! Besides being adorable, the stalk keeps the little sprouts fresh longer and you don’t have to deal with sad blemished ends. This is also a great way to get kids to eat them or so I concluded from a conversation I overheard in the store. While I was picking my stalk, I heard a mom say to her kid, who supposedly was staring at the sprouts, “oh, you want to get some Brussels sprouts? Dad likes to make them with garlic and butter”. The kid thought for a minute, and then said “I also like Brussels sprouts”, pause, “I do like them!”. Then mom says “ok, I like them too, go pick one”. I am doing my best to remember the exact story, but it did sound to me from the pauses and the mom’s tone, that it was news to her about her kid liked Brussels sprouts 🙂

Now back to the recipe. The amounts are really approximate since I was clearing my fridge, so feel free to adjust accordingly 😉

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 8 – 12 oz black cod, halved
  • flour (a few Tb)
  • 1 egg
  • salt, pepper, ancho chile, paprika
  • ~ 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • ~ 14 Brussels sprouts, halved or quartered depending on the size
  • olive oil (~ 2 Tb)
  • 2 handfuls mini-tomatoes (mine are mini-heirloom), halved
  • 2-3 leaves basil, chopped
  • 1 Tb chopped shallot
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar

Preheat oven to 400 F. Toss sprouts with ~ 1 Tb olive oil, salt, and pepper in a baking dish big enough to fit both the sprouts and the fish. Roast sprouts for ~15 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare the fish. Dry fish on paper towels and season with salt and pepper. Whisk the egg with a pinch of salt, pepper, ancho chile and paprika. Dust cod in flour, soak in the egg mixture, and then roll through the bread crumbs, using your hands to press down some crumbs until the fish pieces are fully covered.

Remove sprouts from the oven. Move them along the sides of the baking dish, and place the fish in the middle. Return to oven and bake for an additional 15 minutes or until the fish is opaque through out, flakes easily, and the crumbs are golden.

Prepare the salad by mixing the chopped tomatoes with the shallot and basil. Season with salt, pepper, 2 tsp olive oil and 1 tsp red wine vinegar. Mix well and let sit while the fish is cooking.

Remove fish carefully with a spatula, and serve with the sprouts and salad!

oven baked cod

oven baked cod

Despite being a leftover type dinner, this came together quite nicely! I really enjoy timing the dishes to come together in one pot. Since I am just cooking for two, there is no need to get additional pans dirty!

Have a great weekend everyone…hopefully, filled with some delicious dishes 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fridge Leftovers Dinner: Baked Cod with Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Tomato Basil Salad

  1. This looks divine! I’m SO ready for Brussels Sprouts to be back in season!

  2. Lucky husband to be eating your delicious creations! And with so few dishes! This looks great and you used up everything, I love it. I’m going to go get some brussels on-the-stalk from TJs! I’ve always wanted to buy them in that form! Cool. The story about the mom and her kid was great 🙂 hahaha.

    • yes, the husband is enjoying my cooking quite a bit 🙂 You should definitely get the sprouts on the stalk, but do go to TJs since I have seen some ridiculous prices for them at other grocery stores!

  3. Pingback: Burrata, Tomatoes and Basil Pesto Pizza | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

