Oven-Roasted Cod with Fingerling Potatoes

oven-roasted cod

oven-roasted cod

About a year ago, I got a letter from United Airlines stating that my miles were going to expire unless I took action. I didn’t have that many miles and since I was not planning a trip to Europe any time soon to earn more miles, I just shredded the letter. Well, it seems they like to send their letters in triplicate. I probably had some more time when the last letter arrived because I actually bothered to read it 🙂 Unlike a few years ago when they asked you to make a purchase to earn more miles, this letter emphasized how you can keep your miles by using some of them to subscribe to any of the magazines on their list. Well, I figured some free magazines won’t hurt and this would give me more time just in case I do end up taking other international trips. As you may imagine, I browsed the list for food related magazines, but all I came up with was Wine Spectator, which I checked off the list. I also made a last minute decision to order Coastal Living as well since I figured it might include pretty pictures of warmer places to warm me up during the cold Chicago winters. As it turns out, Coastal Living was much better decision than Wine Spectator, which is a giant magazine from which I’ve only read a handful of articles. On the other hand, Coastal Living does have pretty pictures, house tours, and some very tasty looking recipes! I always have the best intentions to reproduce some of the recipes I read online and in magazines/cookbooks, but I rarely do it! I swear my brain turns into a slot machine with ingredients whenever I try to cook something and inevitably I digress from the recipe that started it all, and quite often end up with a totally different recipe! But not this time! I made a shopping list only for this recipe and only bought the ingredients required to make this one dish at the store!

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 2 Tb butter, softened
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp chives, chopped + more for garnish
  • 2 tsp capers
  • 1 lb fingerling potatoes, halved or quartered
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt
  • ground pepper
  • olive oil
  • 4 bacon slices
  • 8 – 12 oz black cod fillet

Preheat oven to 400F. Mix the butter with the lemon juice, chives, and capers. This mixture will go over the hot fish in the end, so no need to mix it too much.

butter mix

butter mix

Place the potatoes in a microwave safe bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and microwave for 4 minutes. *I didn’t do this, but in retrospect, I think it would help to shake/mix the potatoes mid-way through* Drain the water, if any, and mix in the garlic, salt and pepper to taste (1/4 – 1/2 tsp each). Coat with a little olive oil (~1 tsp).

fingerling potatoes

fingerling potatoes

Meanwhile, slice the bacon and cook it in a cast-iron or other oven proof skillet/pan. Recipe recommends medium-high heat, but my cast iron skillet does best over medium heat. Place bacon bits onto paper towels and drain most of the bacon fat leaving just enough to coat the pan. Add 1 tsp olive oil to the skillet. Cook cod about 1 minute per side. Arrange potatoes around the cod.

cod surrounded by potatoes

cod surrounded by potatoes

Bake for 3 minutes. Remove from oven and spoon over the butter mixture. Return to oven and bake until the cod is cooked through (~5 min). Fish should be opaque and flake easily when probed with a fork.

Taste your potatoes! Mine were not cooked all the day by the time the fish was done, so I placed the cod on a plate, covered it with aluminum foil to keep warm, and then cooked the potatoes for 5 more minutes on the stove top.

Serve cod with the potatoes and bacon, and garnish with some fresh chives!

This recipe has a few different steps, but it does come together pretty quickly (~30 minutes) so it is perfect for a weeknight meal. The timing of the recipe was a little off for me, so as Gordon Ramsay says often on his shows, “don’t forget to taste everything you put on the plate” 😉

How often do you end up actually following recipes? 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oven-Roasted Cod with Fingerling Potatoes

  1. This is where your creativity and understanding of science really shines. I don’t deviate from recipes all that much! I might tweak things to my taste but I almost always have a base recipe I am following along with. I have like two original recipes to my name, and they are things that are really simple (salads, pastas). I definitely could never wing it when it comes to baking! That’s where measurements really matter and I just don’t have a good handle on it.

    Very good tip from Gordon Ramsey, part of why I love him so! This dish sounds really great and quite simple! Love the colorful potatoes.

  2. Pingback: Fridge Leftovers Dinner: Baked Cod with Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Tomato Basil Salad | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

