Fresh Figs, Goat Cheese, Serrano Ham, Chorizo and Arugula Flatbread

Fig, goat cheese, serrano ham, chorizo, arugula flatbread

Fig, goat cheese, serrano ham, chorizo, arugula flatbread

As promised, here is a new recipe! I’ve been meaning to make a fig flatbread since forever (well, just a few years), but I kept missing the fresh figs at the store, assuming they made it to my Chicago stores to begin with. As you can imagine, as soon as I saw the fresh figs on display at my new local Trader Joe’s, I snatched a box, and started running through different toppings idea. I decided against a sauce per se, and just used some herbed goat cheese that I already had waiting for me in the fridge. I was thinking prosciutto, but then I saw a mixed Spanish meats pack, and decided to pick that instead. I couldn’t decide if I wanted the serrano or the chorizo, so I ended up using a little of both 🙂 I also had arugula at home and knew it would make a great topping, and add a little green to the dish. One good thing about the heat wave was that I didn’t have to worry about figuring out how to get my dough to rise in a timely fashion, it did it by itself in no time at all! 🙂 If you live in a colder climate, you can preheat an oven to ~200F, turn it off, and then rest the dough inside to rise.

Ingredients (1 flatbread):

  • dough: 1/2 cup warm water, 1 heaping tsp of dry yeast, 1 tsp salt, 1 – 1/4 cups all purpose flour, olive oil
  • ~ 2 oz herbed soft goat cheese, crumbled
  • 1 slice serrano ham, broken into pieces
  • 1 slice chorizo, broken into pieces
  • 4-5 figs quartered
  • 1 handful arugula
  • balsamic vinegar to drizzle

Prepare the dough by first mixing the warm water with the yeast. Wait a few minutes and make sure it bubbles, otherwise the yeast is probably dead. Mix in the flour and salt, first with the spoon, then knead it with your hands until it forms an homogenous and elastic dough (~5 minutes). Place the dough in a oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let rise for ~30 min, or until it has doubled in size.

Preheat oven to 450 F. Remove dough from the bowl, knead on top of a floured surface. Stretch it into your preferred shape. You can also choose to use a rolling pin. Bake in the oven until almost cooked trough (7-10min). Remove from oven, brush with olive oil, and then top with the goat cheese, ham, chorizo, and quartered figs. Return to oven and bake until the figs are softened (3-5min). Remove from the oven, top with arugula, drizzle with balsamic vinegar, and serve warm.

Enjoy with a nice glass of wine 😉

Fig flatbread

Fig flatbread

This was really delicious, but how could it not be? You got sweet figs, peppery arugula, salty meat, creamy goat cheese, and some tanginess from the balsamic…award winning combination in my book 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fresh Figs, Goat Cheese, Serrano Ham, Chorizo and Arugula Flatbread

  1. I love the fig and goat cheese combo. This is definitely calling my name. Personally, I’d gild the lily and add some caramelized onions, but then, I’m an addict. Great job!

  2. I just bought fresh figs today. I love them. This looks great!!!!

  3. This is a such a lovely combination! Great choice on the Spanish meat pack! Delicious.

  4. Pingback: Fig, Mozzarella, and Basil Pesto Flatbread | the windy kitchen

  5. You’re a genius — this looks fabulous! I love arugula on flatbread, and figs on ANYthing! I recently made some fresh fig cornbread that was so delicious. I love that you scaled this down to one serving! So glad you are settled in and sharing recipes again (and YAY Trader Joe’s!).

  6. Pingback: Three Cheese Pizza with Pesto and Goat Cheese | the windy kitchen

  7. Pingback: Burrata, Tomatoes and Basil Pesto Pizza | the windy kitchen

  8. Pingback: Pear, Gorgonzola, and Pecan Pizza | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

