The Windy Kitchen has Moved West!

My Dear Readers,

this has been quite the eventful summer for the chef at the windy kitchen, i.e. yours truly ๐Ÿ™‚ I successfully defended my PhD thesis on July 12th, ran a few urban races (GUR Chicago, CitySolve, and Xplore), which yielded some monetary rewards, as well as a qualification to the GUR National Championship in Puerto Rico (!!!), followed by getting married on August 24th, official graduation on August 30th, and the move to Los Angeles on August 31st! I am slowly adjusting to the new life in Los Angeles. The heat wave is messing up with my runs a little, but I am finally getting back my CA tan!!!…well, right now it looks like a runners tan, but I’ll work on the rest during the honeymoon in just a bit more than one week ๐Ÿ˜‰ The unpacking and organizing are taking some time, but the kitchen is looking in pretty good shape! I’ve found a nice Ranch 99 market close by and I’ve restocked on Asian spices and given the heat, it’s been a bit of stir-fry central here, but I promise a few new recipes will hit the blog soon! Until then, here are a few pictures:

Wedding:

IMG_7767

one of my favorite views of the skyline

one of my favorite views of the skyline

Graduation:

Graduation on a hot summer day, in a chapel without AC, but I got my diploma!

Graduation on a hot summer day, in a chapel without AC, but I got my diploma!

Can you believe is September already, because I can’t! Hope everyone is having a great summer so far ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Windy Kitchen has Moved West!

  1. Alex & Priya says:

    congrats! can’t wait to hear about how you like LA! xx

  2. GOOD GREIF! You have been busy!! As if the PhD wasn’t large enough — blogging, running, moving — AND getting married! I do not believe I even knew you were engaged. You are full of surprises! All my congratulations to you, what a happy series of events! Such a strong person you are to accomplish so much in one summer (in one lifetime!).

    I wish you well in your new adventure of marriage and LA and very happy to hear your Asian ingredients have been restocked. I hope you have a wonderful and relaxing time on your honeymoon! You’ve earned some rest! I am ready for the heat to be gone as well….. Autumn can”t come quickly enough.

    • Thank you for all your good wishes!!! I’m really curious how I will handle autumn in CA…not feeling pumpkin ready yet, but maybe I’ll get in the mood once the weather gets cooler. I do plan on continuing to make some hearty chilis ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Wow there is a lot to congratulate you on! ๐Ÿ™‚ What an awesome summer!

  4. ChicFitChef says:

    Congratulations on all of your success!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. chef mimi says:

    Congratulations on everything! My daughters has Masters degrees, one has two of them, but a PhD? Impressive!!!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

