Shrimp Tikkas with Strawberry and Grilled Corn Spinach Salad

IMG_7526

shrimp tikkas on top of spinach salad

One of my favorite things to grill is shrimp, more specifically Indian spiced shrimp tikkas! I was first introduced to them during a class at Naveen’s Cuisine and since then I’ve been making them a lot to the point that I don’t even use a recipe, just make a spice mix on the go! While going through my kitchen cupboards this past weekend, I re-discovered my Foreman Grill and decided this would be the perfect way to use it one last time. Since I was cooking for one, I didn’t want to go all the way to the patio and turn on one of the large grills…it just seemed like a waste. To get more use out the Foreman grill, I decided to grill some corn and make a nice salad to go with the shrimp. I improvised a nice ginger-soy sauce dressing that went great with the shrimp. While the initial goal was to diminish the amount of food in my apartment, this dish ended up being more about creating a delicious salad that I would enjoy, though I did make a slightly significant dent in my supply of fresh ginger 🙂

Ingredients (makes 1 salad):

  • about 10 medium shrimp (~0.3 lbs), peeled, deveined, and butterflied
  • marinade: 1 tsp ginger (paste or grated), 1 tsp garlic (minced or paste), 1 tsp garam masala, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 Tb vegetable oil
  • ~ 2 cups baby spinach
  • 5 baby carrots, shredded
  • 5 strawberries, sliced
  • 1/2 corn cob, grilled
  • dressing: 1 tsp grated ginger, 1 tsp low sodium soy sauce, 1 tsp vegetable oil, 1/2 tsp sesame oil, juice from 1/2 lime
  • 1 Tb chopped cilantro

Whisk together the marinade ingredients into a small bowl. Add the shrimp to the marinade, stir, cover the bowl, and let shrimp marinate in the fridge for ~ 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, grill your corn for the salad. Remove shrimp from the marinade and grill until cooked through and it all pink without any greyish spots (~5 min). Add spinach to a salad bowl. Top with strawberries, corn, carrots and the shrimp. Drizzle with dressing and garnish with cilantro. Enjoy!

shrimp salad

shrimp salad

I really liked this salad and all the components ended up going well together…it was not just in my head 🙂 I may however be biased since I do like ginger a lot!

Have a great weekend everyone! I will be trying a new urban race tomorrow (my last Chicago race…sigh!) and then time for more packing and trying to sell/get rid of my furniture. The windy kitchen is sadly getting emptied 😦 At least my plants are going to good and caring homes!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shrimp Tikkas with Strawberry and Grilled Corn Spinach Salad

  1. This looks fantastic! And so simple…a keeper!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

