You can call me Dr. windy kitchen

or windy kitchen, PhD, or just plain old windy kitchen…I won’t mind πŸ™‚

My dear readers (if I haven’t lost you yet), as of July 12th, I am officially a doctor!!! There is still research to wrap up, thesis to format, but it feels a lot easier to do it now without the stress of the dissertation defense and the uncertainty of ever graduating. And yes, to my dear friends who kept repeating that I will graduate, I knew my committee will most likely sign my paper, but this still didn’t make the process any less stressful. And yes, most likely very few people will ever read my thesis, but I still had to write it and put up with all the annoying little things of formatting it…and not to mention the dreaded moment when my laptop decided to lose one of my chapters two days before my thesis was due to the committee!!! Thank you, FileAngel, for recovering it and keeping me sane enough to actually make it through the last few months of my PhD. Fortunately, I survived, and I really have my friends and family to thank for it. I have truly been blessed with wonderful people in my life and their support and patience through out the last few months are much appreciated. I am very grateful to have you in my life πŸ˜‰

Here is a picture one of my friends snapped during the post-defense celebration:

972194_10100212623757129_1977300338_nAnd this was snapped my another friend with the form signed by my committee certifying I have completed all my degree requirements:

defenseI still have a lot of things going on, but I am hoping to slowly get back to trying new recipes. Until then, here is what I’ve been cooking, mostly per my friends’ requests:

this delicious blueberry cake (without the rhubarb). I am convinced my friends bought an excess of blueberries for my defense party just so there will be enough leftover for me to make this cake πŸ™‚

– the grilled version of this steak and the chimichurri sauce…I saw people even dipping kettle corn in the sauce, it is that good!

this mango salsa,Β perfect for summer BBQs πŸ˜‰

– another favorite side dish of mine is this potato salad

Hope everyone is having a great summer! I am looking forward to catching up with some of your blogs πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Chemistry, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to You can call me Dr. windy kitchen

  1. Congratulations! πŸ™‚

  2. My warmest congratulations to you!!!!

  3. samokan says:

    Congratulations !!

  4. HOLY SMOKES, congratulations!! I also knew you would do it, but I cannot even imagine the stress you have been under. Wheeee it’s DONE! I am so impressed! Doing something like this seems much, much more difficult than running like fourteen marathons. You’re a rock star! You look so happy πŸ™‚

  5. Lendi H says:

    Its true! (What you said about the blueberries and all) πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: The Windy Kitchen has Moved West! | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

