Raspberry Grand Marnier Margarita

Raspberry Limeade Grand Marnier Margarita

Raspberry Limeade Grand Marnier Margarita

Happy National Tequila Day, everyone! I don’t make many cocktails, but since the internet has informed me that today it is National Tequila Day, I decided to make an exception and figure out something to make with tequila. I am very fond of margaritas and while in college I consumed countless pitchers of frozen margaritas with my friends at this wonderful Mexican restaurant, Amigos, very close to the Caltech campus. In my day, pitchers of margaritas were going for only $16, and as far I am concerned those were the best frozen margaritas I’ve ever had, but this one I just made is even better…not because I made it, but because it’s with my favorite cocktail fruit, raspberries, which are hard to find in margarita form, and the Grand Marnier adds a very nice touch of flavor to it. 

After moving to Chicago, I’ve been on a quest for good margaritas, but I’ve slowly given up especially after the place known for the best strawberry margarita in town served us a watery concoction not really deserving its name. A long time ago, I bought a can of frozen limeade from Trader Joe’s to make my own, but it was left forgotten in a corner of my freezer…until today! This margarita was created in an effort to reduce my pantry, even though it only helped with the limeade container, but barely made a dent in my alcohol quantity…but that’s okay, as some of my friends are looking forward to taking ownership of my leftover alcohol after I move…and no, they’re not alcoholics, just graduate students 🙂

Ingredients (makes 1):

  • 1/2 cup frozen or fresh raspberries
  • 1 tsp sugar (optional)
  • 1 Tb Grand Marnier
  • 1 cup limeade concentrate
  • 2 oz tequila (I used Jose Cuervo reposado)
  • ice cubes
  • salt, lime slice (optional)

Puree the raspberries with the sugar and Grand Marnier. Salt the rim of a glass. Add raspberry puree to the glass, followed by the limeade concentrate, ice, and tequila. Stir, decorate with a slice of lime and serve! 

I’m enjoying mine with a beautiful post-sunset view. 

Raspberry margarita

Raspberry margarita

This is one very tasty margarita and I cannot believe it’s taken me so long to make one. Lesson learned, I’ll have to try making cocktails more often 😉

Any other tequila cocktails I should try make? The bottle is pretty much full still 🙂 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raspberry Grand Marnier Margarita

  1. Kendra Yost says:

    Now you’re talking!

  2. This sounds killer-good! And so refreshing! I never buy limeade concentrate, maybe I need to now 🙂 So glad you’re having more relaxing evenings with a good, strong drink! You’ve earned it.

    Where are you moving? Are you staying in Chicago?

    We really like making margaritas with fresh-squeezed ruby grapefruit and lime, over ice. I don’t usually buy Grand Marnier so we use agave syrup to sweeten, but Grand Marnier might make it perfect 🙂

    • I never buy concentrates either, but my roommate in college used it to make some great frozen margaritas. It probably works great with lime juice as well, not to mention the reduced calories 😉 I will be moving to LA, where my fiancee lives, at the end of August. I just need to find a job 😀 Your margaritas sounds really good too. I use Grand Marnier for desserts every now and then, so I always have some in my pantry. I really liked it in the margarita, definitely worth a try 😉

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

