Matcha Green Tea Latte with Almond Milk

Matcha Green Tea and Almond Milk Latte

Matcha Green Tea and Almond Milk Latte

While I mostly just limit my caffeine intake to a cup of coffee in the morning, I sometimes like to enjoy a cup of tea in the afternoon, and more so lately since I’ve been spending most of my time staring at my laptop writing. Since it’s been a little hot these days, I’ve been craving a cold drink and that’s when I remembered the green tea lattes I used to enjoy with one my friends a few years ago at a Barnes and Noble Starbucks. Since I already had some matcha green tea powder in my pantry, I decided to make my own, which not only saved me a trip to the coffee shop, but also a few dollars 😉

Ingredients (makes 1):

  • 2 tsps matcha green tea powder
  • 1/2 tsp sugar (optional)
  • 1 Tb warm water
  • 1 cup almond milk (or your favorite type of milk)
  • several cubes of ice

Dissolve the matcha powder and sugar in 1 Tb of warm water. Add half the milk, stir, add ice, add the second half of milk and stir again. I found this is the easiest way to get it mixed, but it might depend on the type of glass you use.

Matcha Green Tea Latte

Matcha Green Tea Latte

This is perfect on a hot summer day 😉 Enjoy!

What is your favorite non-alcoholic summer drink?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Matcha Green Tea Latte with Almond Milk

  1. Oooooh, interesting! I am always looking for something cool and fresh like this in the summer!

  2. This sounds so good!! I’ve never made a matcha tea latte but the almond milk combination sounds perfect. Does it contain a lot of caffeine? I think I definitely need to buy some matcha green tea powder, after reading this and userealbutter’s post this week of matcha mochi balls 🙂 My favorite non-alcoholic summer cooler is sun tea — brew it outside on the deck in three hours, sip wonderful cold-brewed iced tea (I usually make decaf green) for days. Yum!

    • according to the internet matcha has 70mg/tsp/8 fl oz while coffee has 95mg/fl oz, so I guess my latte has quite a bit of caffeine, but I needed it 🙂 The sun tea sounds delicious and perfect for hot summer days! oh, and I love mochi! I’ll have to check out the recipe and make some 😉

  3. Stephanie says:

    Hum looks delicious! I may try with coco milk too 😉

  4. Pingback: Green Tea

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

