Caipirinha Cake

Caipirinha Cake

Caipirinha Cake

As I am spending more and more time writing my thesis, I am afraid my blog posts will become even less frequent. This doesn’t mean I won’t be fantasizing about food all the time, just that experimenting in the kitchen will be minimized and I may just stick to some default recipes for the next few months. It seems lately, I’ve mostly been cooking for birthdays 🙂 I love baking and it is the most enjoyable way to destress…running is a good way too, but it is a little more painful 🙂 I’ve made this double chocolate bread pudding about a month ago, which while not for the faint of heart, it is quite delicious, followed by a simpler version of this lavender cake (just the cake and lime icing) and today I made this caipirinha cake from one of my favorite dessert blogs! I knew I had to make this since the title contains one my favorite drinks and also I have a giant bottle of cachaça (Brazilian rum) that I need to finish before moving out at the end of the summer!

Speaking of birthdays, I finally received my birthday present from my amazing friends. How cool is this? 🙂

IMG_7432

They even got engraved a special element just for me (St) 🙂

IMG_7433

The cake turned out delicious! It is perfect for summer, even though the weather today in Chicago was not quite as warm as I would have wanted it to be. I mostly changed the ingredients to make it more US units friendly, reduced the sugar in the cake (I’ve probably mentioned this quite a few times, but I’ve realized most desserts in US are a little too sweet for me, so I try to substitute flavor for the extra-sweetness) and increased the alcohol content by skipping the boiling off step. The more alcohol the better…don’t worry, you cannot get tipsy from eating the cake alone 😉 However, be careful when drinking caipirinhas: they may taste as limeade, but they pack quite a bit of alcohol!

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 Tb baking powder
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 5 Tb unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • lime zest from 2 limes
  • 2/3 cup whole milk
  • syrup: 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup lime juice (~ 1.5 limes),  1/4 cup cachaça

Preheat oven to 350 F. Butter a cake pan. In a large bowl, beat butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Add vanilla, and the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add lime zest.

cake batter - lime zest

cake batter – lime zest

When deciding how to convert the flour from grams to cups, I realized I had this cool measuring cup from my mom that I could finally use! It has marks for grams for the most common dry ingredients (sugar, flour, cocoa, etc). It is even bilingual: German and Romanian 🙂

measuring the flour

measuring the flour

Beat in the lime zest. Add about half the flour, baking powder and salt and beat until incorporated. Beat in the milk, followed by the remaining flour.

cake batter done

cake batter done

Add batter to the cake pan and try to do a better job than I did at leveling it 🙂 Bake for ~ 35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool.

Meanwhile, make the syrup. In a saucepan, mix the water, sugar, lime juice and 2 Tb of the cachaça. Cook on medium-high heat until it thickens to a syrup consistency and it slightly changes color (about 5 minutes after it reaches boiling). Remove from heat and stir in the remaining cachaça. Let cool for a few minutes.

Poke holes in the cake using a toothpick. Brush with the syrup waiting a bit between brushes to let the syrup soak in. Let cool completely and serve 😉

The cake got great reviews, so if you have some cachaça around the house, definitely give this cake a try, if not, go and buy some…and get some extra-limes for a caipirinha 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Caipirinha Cake

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Love the board. Love the cake. My eldest is also stuck on her thesis for the next while and her blog has had to be parked too. It will pass…

  2. chef mimi says:

    That is the coolest present ever.

  3. Love the board. I won’t date myself by telling you how many elements were in the periodic table when I learned it. 😮 Good luck on the thesis. The blog can wait and so can we.

  4. Jacob says:

    For those of us who can’t find Brazillian rum, is that a white or spiced rum?

    • it is white 38% alcohol, but it has a little more flavor than regular rum. cachaca is made out of sugar cane and it has some of that flavor and sweetness to it that is a little different than regular rum. if you can, you could substitute the white sugar with a less refined version or with sugar cane syrup if available.

  5. I’ve never tasted/heard of a caipirinha or cachaca before! Now I’m intrigued and want to try to find some locally! This cake sounds so good — and amazingly moist from the syrup poured over. (I agree that most American desserts are much too sweet!) I cannot believe you’re managing to blog while working on your thesis! Dang, girl. I find blogging plus my day job more than I can find time for, often enough! So impressive.

    I LOVE that cutting board! Thanks for sharing photos! Happy birthday 🙂

  6. Friday Nimh says:

    The cutting board is absolutely GENIUS!!!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

