Asparagus, Prosciutto and Egg Flatbread

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Egg Flatbread

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Egg Flatbread

Have you ever wished that time would pass faster let’s say to be able to enjoy some warmer weather or finally wrap up your PhD, but also in the same time to have it move slower so you can have time to finish all the work you have to do in the meantime? As it happens, you cannot change how fast or slow time moves and as proof of that as of last week I am in my last year as a 20 something year old…yikes! 🙂 It’s been about a week of good food and catching up with friends, but it is again time to get back to planning some tasty homemade meals and keep up with my running. This Saturday, I am actually participating in the Chicago Urban Race with a few co-workers so besides running, I also need to sharpen up my clue solving skills! Any advice is much appreciated 😉

As you may have noticed, I really like my spring asparagus and this is a recipe I’ve been meaning to try for quite sometime. I was not quite sure how it will turn out, but I am happy to report that it made for a great breakfast! It could, of course, also be served as an appetizer.

Ingredients (makes 1 flatbread):

  • 1/2 dough recipe from here
  • olive oil
  • 2 slices of prosciutto
  • 5 – 7 asparagus spears, ends snapped
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup cheese (I used a combination of mozzarella and cheddar)
  • 1 egg
  • parmesan shavings (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Roll out the dough. Brush with olive oil. Top with prosciutto and asparagus.

assembling the flatbread: prosciutto and asparagus

assembling the flatbread: prosciutto and asparagus

Top the asparagus with cheese.

add cheese (mozzarella and cheddar)

add cheese (mozzarella and cheddar)

Carefully break the egg making sure it stays contained.

put an egg on top!

put an egg on top!

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until the dough and egg are cooked. Sprinkle with parmesan and serve warm.

yummy flatbread!

yummy flatbread!

You can also choose to fry the egg independently and then place it atop the flatbread, but I chose to bake mine. The top of the egg did get a bit more cooked than I was hoping for, but the middle was still nice and soft!

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Asparagus, Prosciutto and Egg Flatbread

  1. Friday Nimh says:

    Oh my heavens… My eyes say I must have it. My stomach says, “Your damn right!”

  2. Bill Peeler says:

    That looks awesome – love that you baked the egg on top with the flatbread itself. I’m sure it was delicious!

  3. This reminds me of a springy breakfast pizza! How delicious does that look! I wish asparagus season was a little longer… I can always get some in the stores, but this time of year is when it is soooo good! I love that you put an egg on top…. always a great choice 🙂

  4. I love this! I can not think of a better combination, prosciuitto, egg, asparagus and cheddar…love the baked egg on top. Just found you and I really like your blog. Nice!

  5. Randall says:

    Love it, nice creation. Looks nutritious as well. Thanks for sharing with Us. 🙂

    Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

    • thanks, Randall! pretty nutritious, but it could probably benefit from a healthier crust. I have to work on that 😉

      • Randall says:

        Here are some ideas if you like, for replacing the Flat-bread: pumpernickel, rye bread, whole wheat pita bread, wraps spinach, sun-dried tomato. 🙂

        Just some ideas. Though I think the food creation you make looks awesome as it is!!

        Regards,
        Randall

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

