Shamrock Shuffle 8K (April 7th, 2013)

Shamrock Shuffle 8K finisher :-)

Shamrock Shuffle 8K finisher πŸ™‚

You guys, this Sunday I ran a really cool race, the Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8K. I highly recommend it if you are in Chicago. This was a huge race, similar in size to the Hot Chocolate, but so much better organized. Here are some of my favorite things about the race that all race organizers out there should pay attention to:

  • They separated the runners into 2 waves: wave 1 with Elite and corrals A-E in which you could only get in based on a time from a previous race (I was lucky to barely make it based on my Santa Hustle 5K time) and a second wave for people with slower race time or first time racers. I am not sure how wave 2 went, but it was very easy to run in wave 1 and only stumbled upon a few walkers on the last mile.
  • Volunteers handing out Kleenex during the run! I always bring my own tissues, but it is so cute they thought about it!
  • We had to run over a few bridges whose grates were quite rough on the feet, but they taped carpets on both sides of the bridges! Another really nice detail that shows they care.
  • Timing matts at every mile and an additional one at the 5K point. It is really great to see your results mile by mile as the mapmyrun GPS was a little confused and ended up calculating 5.61 mi which gave highly inaccurate mile paces.

I ended up with a pretty decent pace per mile and could have probably done a little better if my neighbors wouldn’t have been hammering in the middle of the night and if my left foot would have felt a little better. I really hope my foot will recover soon (I self diagnosed it with extensor tendonitis…auch), if not I may have to see a doctor about it. I had mixed feelings signing up for a race so close to my 10K, but the reviews of the shuffle were very positive and I am really glad I chose to run it. Also, the weather was quite nice. It was a bit hard to dress for it since it was quite chilly in the morning, but it got warm towards the end of the race. I tried to run Β in the shade, which was quite surprising given all my other runs where I was searching for the sun πŸ™‚Β 

Here are my race results if you’re curious how they did it:

Screen shot 2013-04-08 at 10.22.57 AMI knew I was under 10 min/mile (my targeted pace) based on the clocks at the mile markers, but it is really nice to see the more accurate numbers πŸ˜‰

Now, time to rest my foot and then prepare for the next adventure: the Color Run in June! Very excited for this one since I have heard lots of great things about it and also we have quite a big team signed up for it. It should be loads of fun πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shamrock Shuffle 8K (April 7th, 2013)

  1. greenbee3 says:

    Hi! I really enjoy your blog. I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. Check out the link http://greenbeekitchen.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/versatile-blogger-nomination/
    Congratulations!

  2. Oh dear me — I read these posts as they came, on my ancient dinosaur of a work computer, and couldn’t get WordPress to cooperate with a comment πŸ™‚ I loved reading about your runs!! You have improved so much and done SO well! Your pace was great. Don’t you feel accomplished? I’m excited to hear more about your color run — they do one here locally, too, it looks so fun! I love that this one handed out tissues… so thoughtful! I did a memorial run last week for Boston… it was very emotionally taxing, the whole week was. But it felt like something I could do, run and think of Boston, pray for them. So very tragic and unfair.

    Hope you are well πŸ™‚ Looking forward to reading more of your wonderful recipes!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

