Spring Asparagus Quiche with Mushrooms, Pancetta and Feta Cheese

Spring Asparagus Quiche

Spring Asparagus Quiche

I really like quiche with its buttery crust, delicious cheese and an assortment of veggie and flavor combinations. For a while, I used to order quiche for brunch, but some restaurants have disappointed me so I decided I should just stick to making my own. I feel like some restaurants used too much cream and not enough toppings so it ends up tasting like a savory custard with not much egg flavor. A great thing about cooking your own meals is that not only do you have control over the quality of the ingredients used, but also over the final taste, which you can tailor to your preference. For example, this quiche is a little heavy on the asparagus/veggies, but it’s fine because that’s what I wanted. Quiches are also great ways of using leftover veggies and cheese, but unfortunately I rarely do that…sometimes I should follow my own advice πŸ˜‰ For this quiche I actually ended up picking up a new bunch of asparagus. Trader Joe’s has some beautiful fresh asparagus bunches that I couldn’t resist buying…the other grocery chains should really learn a thing or two (or more actually) from Trader Joe’s! I also picked up some New Zealand cheddar cheese to top the quiche with. It was quite tasty.

While I did open Julia Child’s book, I didn’t end up following it very much, except for not crowding my mushrooms…for some reason this has really stuck into my head. I opted for prepping the veggies all in one skillet, but you can definitely steam the asparagus separately.

Ingredients (serves 4):

  • 1 pastry crust (1 1/4 cup all purpose flour, 1 stick butter, 1/2 tsp salt, pinch of sugar, 4 Tb cold water)
  • 4 oz pancetta cubes
  • 2 Tb butter
  • 4-5 crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 bunch asparagus, chopped (~1/2 lb)
  • 2-3 spring onions
  • 3 oz feta cheese, crumbled
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/3 cup cheddar cheese (or swiss/gruyere)

Make the pastry crust by cutting the butter into the dry ingredients using a pastry blender.Β 

IMG_7338Add cold water and knead until the dough comes together into a ball. Do not overwork the dough.

crust dough

crust dough

Cover though with plastic wrap and let chill for 30 min or until you are ready to use it. Preheat oven to 400F. When ready, roll out the dough on a floured surface. Place in a pie dish, cover with foil and pie weights (beans or rice) and par-bake for ~ 8 min. Remove foil and weights and bake for another 3 min. Remove from oven. Reduce oven temperature to 375F.

Meanwhile, prepare your toppings. Preheat skillet on medium heat. Add pancetta and cook until crispy.

yummy pancetta

yummy pancetta

Using a slotted spoon remove pancetta and place it on a plate on top of a paper towel to drain the remaining grease.

Heat butter in a skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms and cook for a few minutes. Meanwhile, chop the asparagus. Look how nice mine looked!

fresh asparagus

fresh asparagus

Add asparagus to the mushrooms and cook until tender (~ 5 min). Add spring onions and cook for 1-2 minutes.Β Whisk eggs with the cream, milk, salt and pepper. Now you’re ready to assemble your quiche.

Add asparagus, mushrooms, onions and pancetta to the crust.

assembling the quiche

assembling the quiche

Top with the feta cheese.

assembling the quiche

assembling the quiche

Pour in your egg mixture. Top with ~ 1/3 shredded cheddar.

assembled quiche

assembled quiche

Bake at 375F for ~30 min or until the crusted is golden and the mixture is puffed.

cooked quiche

cooked quiche

Let cool for a bit before serving. Slice and serve. This reheats very nicely for breakfast/lunch.

spring asparagus quiche

spring asparagus quiche

Not that I am biased or anything, but this was probably the best quiche I’ve had so far πŸ™‚ The veggies go great with the saltiness of the pancetta and feta cheese. Since it reheats pretty well, it makes for a great packed lunch! I really should be making quiches more often πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spring Asparagus Quiche with Mushrooms, Pancetta and Feta Cheese

  1. Bill Peeler says:

    I love asparagus when it’s really skinny and tender like what you have. Looks sooo delicious!

  2. Friday Nimh says:

    Numnumnum!!!

    It’s a slice of addiction that I will be making for myself soon!

  3. putneyfarm says:

    Looks great, you had us with both the asparagus and the pancetta.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely looking breakfast. We are waiting for spring here….
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day from Dublin, Ireland,
    Conor

  5. samokan says:

    Looks so good, I will be making this as soon as the store restock their feta cheese πŸ™‚

  6. Ok I have totally has quiche on the brain lately, also! Great minds think alike πŸ™‚ This sounds sooo good! I love spring veggies added to foods… actually, i love any veggies added to food. AND cheese! Making it for dinner and having good leftovers for lunch sounds like the perfect use of time, too! Thanks for another great recipe πŸ™‚

    • they sure do πŸ˜‰ veggies are amazing, they can pack so much flavor especially when fresh! I really like recipes that reheat well, it made the work involved in making the crust totally worth it πŸ˜‰

  7. snati001 says:

    Just had some of that New Zealand Cheddar for lunch in my BLT wrap. So good! Haven’t had quiche in awhile. I like your step by step tutorial. πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Homemade Ricotta and Feta Tart with Sun-dried Tomatoes | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

