Pasta Primavera with Asparagus, Zucchini, Mushrooms and Spring Onions

Pasta Primavera

Pasta Primavera

I am not sure if it was all the green dishes posted online, Foodie’s email asking what dishes represent spring, my mom mentioning how the Orthodox Easter is approaching and this is the meatless week preceding the vegan long fast or the lonely zucchini in my fridge, but all of the sudden I was craving a veggie dish and more exactly one with asparagus and the aforementioned zucchini.

I already had the zucchini, but I had to go to the store and pick up the craved asparagus. I surveyed the other ingredient options in the produce section and left home with some mushrooms, spring onions, peas (unfortunately no fresh ones so I had to settle for canned) and cilantro to top my dish (basil is too expensive and not nearly as used as cilantro in my kitchen). I ended up using cream for the sauce since I didn’t have much time nor enough tomatoes, but I think it would go well with a fresh tomato sauce made with roasted tomatoes, garlic and onion for a vegan, healthier dish…maybe next time 😉

Ingredients (serves 2-4):

  • 1-2 Tb vegetable or olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4-5 crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 lb asparagus, ends snapped off, cut into 1-2″ chunks
  • 1 small zucchini, quartered lengthwise then sliced
  • 5 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 5 spring onions, sliced
  • 1/2 can peas (~ 7 oz)
  • 1 Tb butter
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4+ cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 lb penne pasta
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cilantro, chopped

Heat up oil in a saute pan/skillet over medium heat. Cook garlic until fragrant (1-2 min). Add mushrooms and cook until softened, 2-3 minutes. Add asparagus and zucchini. 

yummy veggies!

yummy veggies!

 

Cook until tender (5-7 min). Meanwhile cook your pasta according to directions. Add tomatoes and spring onions and cook until tomatoes softened, 2-3 min. Add butter and stir until melted. Add peas, cream and parmesan cheese. Cook until cheese is melted. Add pasta and mix until the pasta is coated with sauce.

after adding the tomatoes

yummy pasta with veggies and cream

 

Serve topped with a bit more parmesan and freshly chopped cilantro.

Pasta Primavera - served!

Pasta Primavera – served!

This was a lovely dish, and with all the veggies I didn’t even miss the meat 😉 Despite the few snowflakes still hanging around Chicago, this dish definitely tasted like spring and got me excited about all the fresh produce that will shortly hit the stores and farmers’ markets!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pasta Primavera with Asparagus, Zucchini, Mushrooms and Spring Onions

  1. Bill Peeler says:

    That looks so fresh and delicious!

  2. This sounds wonderful! And very inspirational — I was totally planning to make a spring-y, pasta dish for dinner tonight! I’d thought of mushrooms, snap peas, maybe spinach or kale, and a cream sauce with wine and parmesan — and I just bought a big old basil plant for my front window so I’m going to use basil. great minds!! Almost an identical meal 🙂 I think mine will need asparagus and/or zucchini as well! I am soooo looking forward to spring pea season!

    • your version of pasta sounds amazing! unfortunately, I haven’t been very successful growing herbs in my apartment, but that would be such a good way to save money on fresh herbs!

  3. Nice recipe with beautiful photos! Can’t you get frozen peas? They are so much better than canned!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

