Coffee & Chili Rubbed Rib Eye steak

resting coffee & chili rubbed rib eye steak

resting coffee & chili rubbed rib eye steak

I always find it interesting what recipes I actually remember from online websites, cookbooks or magazines. I am now receiving Cook’s Illustrated and Bon Appetit (free subscription with the cookbook!) magazines and while I browse them I stop at various recipes I think about making, but I end up forgetting about most of them. However, some do surface later on when I am planning dinner. This happened with both the popover recipe and this coffee-chili rubbed steak. I knew we were going to have the Goose Island Coffee Bourbon County stout so I figured it would pair well with steak and somehow this picture of the coffee rubbed rib eye popped into my head. This was part of the “cooking school” section of the BA magazine and since I have never tried a spice rubbed (well, I do rub my steak with spices occasionally, but nothing too well planned out :)) I figured it was worth trying it out. I mean, I must have remembered the recipe for a reason ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t have aleppo pepper so I substituted ancho chili. Otherwise, since this was part of the “cooking school” section, I did my best to follow the rules and learn the proper technique!

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 2 -3 Tb spice rub (1 Tb ancho chili, 1 Tb ground coffee, 1 Tb freshly ground pepper, 1 Tb packed dark brown sugar, 1 tsp smoked paprika, 1 tsp yellow mustard powder, 1/2 tsp medium hot chili powder, 1/2 ground ginger, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper)
  • 1 bone-in rib eye steak (~ 1 lb)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 Tb vegetable oil
  • 3 Tb unsalted butter
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 6 sprigs thyme
  • 1 tsp dry rosemary (or 1 sprig fresh)

Make the spice rub by mixing all the ingredients together. Let steak come up to room temperature if previously refrigerated.

Preheat oven to 400F. Season steak with salt and 2 + Tb spice rub until it’s all covered.

spice rubbed rib eye

spice rubbed rib eye

Preheat 2 Tb of oil on high heat in 2 different cast-iron (or other ovenproof) skillets. You can do it step-wise as well and clean the skillet in between, but using 2 skillets worked for me. Sear steak in first skillet for 1 minute (there will be some smoke). Move steak to second skillet and sear on the other side for 1 minute. Add the butter, garlic, herbs and cook until the butter gets foamy. Baste steak for 1 minute per side. Transfer skillet to oven and bake to desired doneness (125 F for medium-rare, 10-15 minutes depending on thickness).

Transfer to plate and let rest for ~ 20 minutes. Enough time to prepare a salad and pour yourself a well-deserved glass of bourbon county ๐Ÿ™‚

This steak turned out very tasty and since it only required about 1 minute of searing, it didn’t cause too much smoke. I liked using 2 skillets (well, my second one was a Le Creuset dutch oven since I do not own 2 cast-iron skillets, plus most skillets don’t fit in my convection oven ;-)) instead of scrambling to clean one in between the sears. Cleaning the pots after a nice dinner was a lot easier ๐Ÿ™‚

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coffee & Chili Rubbed Rib Eye steak

  1. kme141 says:

    Looks delicious! I used coffee in a short rib recipe once and loved it. You’re inspiring me to branch out. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Nice post. I would definitely eat this! I love rubs and coffee rubs are great with beef. IMHO, you simply cannot have enough rubs and spice blends in your pantry. I have tried to convince all of my children that cooking your meat is important but equally, if not more important, is how you season it. That’s where rubs come into play. A beautifully cooked, well seasoned meat takes a ho-hum meal to a piรจce de rรฉsistance. Any good cook can make a well cooked steak or other protein but only a visionary can make a rub that makes you remember the experience and want it again. As an FYI, aleppo chile is a Middle Eastern spice typically found in Syria and Turkey. It is similar to the ancho chile but has an earthy smokiness like cumin. It also has a much higher heat level (10,000 SU) than the ancho (3,000 SU). Now, that you’ve found the wonders of rubs, check out my chocolate steak on the blog. It goes well with Stouts, Porters and Young’s Double Chocolate Stout, not to mention a 2004 Faust Cabernet that has some very pleasant chocolate undertones.

    • I totally agree that seasoning is very important! A good steak can shine with just salt and pepper, but a rub definitely takes it to the next level! I didn’t know I will be making this when I went to the spice store and didn’t find aleppo at the grocery store. I will definitely try it with Aleppo as well as soon as I can get my hands on some! I read somewhere that you can try to substitute aleppo with ancho and smoky paprika and I added some cayenne for an extra kick since the ancho is not very spicy. Oh, I really like Young’s Double Chocolate Stout and your steak rub sounds amazing…will have to give it a try ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Bill Peeler says:

    I don’t usually make a lot of red meat – but every once in awhile, I crave a big ole steak. I’m sure your rub is out of this world – looks sooooo delicious —

    • yeah, I don’t make steak often either, but when I do, I try to use different seasonings/sauces. The spice rubs do infuse lots of flavor so I think I will try more in the future ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for your visit!

  4. Great inclusion of coffee, never tried it, but I am encouraged to now, Thanks, Tracey

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

