Thyme Popovers that can’t be confined :-)

Thyme Popovers

Thyme Popovers

I don’t often make a 3-course dinner and very rarely one that contains an appetizer I have to worry about :-), but a few times a year I do make an effort. Last year, I attempted Julia Child’s cheese souffles and after one burnt roux, 20 minutes of staring at the little terrors and a failed picture (it turned out a weird color) we (well, mostly my fiance as I was still worried it would be a disaster and it will add even more pressure for the main dish) finally enjoyed cheese souffles. Delicious as they were, I decided they weren’t worth the effort/stress nor the calories (well, I probably burned most of them beforehand while pacing down the kitchen :-)).

I was intrigued when I saw these popovers in the Bon Appetit magazine as they didn’t seem nearly as stressful as a souffle and looked like they would deliver a very similar result. Despite the recipe clearly calling them nutmeg and pepper popovers, all I could think about was thyme popovers. Imagine my surprise when a few months later I open the magazine and there is no thyme in the “thyme popovers” 🙂 I immediately rectified this “mistake” in my personal copy! Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure the nutmeg ones taste delightful, but I really wanted thyme popovers 🙂

I used ~ 1/3 of ingredients and tweaked the original recipe a bit. I was aiming for 4 popovers, but somehow I ended up with 5. I swear this always happens to me: an extra pancake, and extra waffle, etc. We did our best to like the 5th one just as much as the other ones and offering it a dignified end by eating it 🙂

Ingredients (makes 5):

  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • 1 tsp chopped thyme leaves
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup + 2 Tb whole milk
  • 1 Tb melted butter for the batter
  • 1 Tb melted butter for the pan

Whisk together the eggs and the milk until homogenous. Slowly whisk in the flour, salt, pepper and thyme. Whisk in the melted butter being careful not to over mix. 

thyme popover batter

thyme popover batter

Chill mix until ready to bake.

Preheat oven to 425 F. Melt butter and use 1/2 tsp to grease each muffin cup. Fill each cup about 3/4 full. Make sure you divide the batter equally to make sure they all cook at about the same time.

filled muffin cups

filled muffin cups

Bake for ~ 30 min or until their puffed and golden brown. Remove from pan and serve immediately.

Thyme Popover - success!

Thyme Popover – success!

It was a lot of fun watching these little guys “pop-up”. I thought they were raising uniformly, but what happened was that they escaped the muffin pan and they turned their butt at me…silly things 🙂 I had a lot of fun making these (unlike the souffles) and they were quite delicious. As far as I am concerned all the future needs for souffles will be replaced with cute popovers 🙂

Which ones do you like better: souffles or popovers? Will it make a difference if you weren’t the one having to make them? 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thyme Popovers that can’t be confined :-)

  1. Beautiful, live the idea of adding thyme.

  2. oh i like pop overs better…and these are just cute little babies…so good with roast..you did a beautiful job…lovely post..sarah

  3. i think i prefer popovers! but, possibly because my mom used to make a souffle when we were kids that i really didnt care for. how ungrateful i sound! but still. these look so easy! is that really all there is to it — just a standard batter with normal ingredients? they seem so exotic, somehow 🙂 i can just use a regular muffin tin? i want to try these! i lovvvve baked goods on the weekends… but these sound simple enough for the working-weeknight! you’re awesome!

    • I know, right? I couldn’t believe it when they started getting puffy without me having to stress about each step of the process 🙂 I am happy I discovered them and I will definitely make them again…maybe try some different flavors 😉

  4. putneyfarm says:

    Love this…we make popover and love thyme but never made the connection..but it sounds great. Will try- thx!

  5. Claire D says:

    Difficult question as to souffle or popovers as I love them both. On a cold, rainy Sunday I love a good popover with prime rib. What a great idea to add Thyme – am trying your recipe next time we have a rainy day. Oh yeah, I am from Seattle – guess I will be making these this weekend!

  6. Karen says:

    You did a wonderful job with your popovers…I love that you added the thyme.

  7. chef mimiimi says:

    Where did you get that muffin pan????? It’s the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen!!! Except for your popovers, which are lovely.

    • Santa found the muffin pan at Anthropologie last year. I am not sure if they still have it, but they often carry cute cookware. I had to limit myself to only things “I need” since I don’t have much room in my kitchen 🙂

  8. Pingback: Coffee & Chili Rubbed Rib Eye steak | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

