Goose Island Coffee Bourbon County Stout Mini-Chocolate Cakes

Goose Island Coffee Bourbon County Stout Mini-Chocolate Cake

Goose Island Coffee Bourbon County Stout Mini-Chocolate Cake

I’m Andreea and I am a chocoholic 🙂 I always have chocolate in my pantry and am always thinking about ways of using it. I usually buy a pound of the Trader Joe’s 72% Pound Plus Dark Chocolate and it lasts me for quite some time. The serving size for it is 3 squares/1.3 oz in case you will be wondering how I get my weird measurements from.

Every year, Goose Island has a few limited release bourbon county stouts and this year I managed to buy some of their Coffee Bourbon County Stout. Unfortunately, despite numerous attempts, I didn’t manage to get my hands on their Cherry Rye, but anyways, some bourbon county stout is still better than none 🙂 We had ours for a post-Valentine’s day dinner and decided to use a little bit to make these mini-cakes. Stout and chocolate go great together, coffee and chocolate also, so I figured coffee stout chocolate should be a winning combination, and it was! You can of course substitute any coffee stout.

Ingredients (3 mini-cakes):

  • 1.3 oz dark chocolate, melted
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup coffee stout
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 3 ramekins with butter and powder with flour. Melt chocolate either on top of a water bath or in the microwave (just be careful not to burn it). Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy (a few minutes). Beat the egg until homogenous (1 min). Beat in the melted chocolate, followed by the stout, salt, baking powder and flour. Divide batter equally among the prepared ramekins. Bake until cooked through (~ 20 minutes).

Let cool for a little bit, remove from the ramekin and serve powdered with sugar (or your favorite sauce, this would go well with the raspberry coulis).

What I love most about this time of year is that tulips are in bloom and I can get them in my flower arrangements. The driver messed up the delivery and I had to wait an extra day, but it was well worth the wait! How pretty are they? 😉

Valentine's day flowers

Valentine’s day flowers

What did you cook/eat this Valentine’s day? Stay tuned for my appetizer and main-dish recipes 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Goose Island Coffee Bourbon County Stout Mini-Chocolate Cakes

  1. oh! — i could go for mini cake right now 🙂 coffee stout and chocolate? Sounds amazing! i’m so impressed with your ability to make your own cake/baked goods recipes. it is so beyond my own skills 🙂 your flowers are just gorgeous! great photograph! i’m looking forward to hearing what else you cooked up for Valentine’s Day 🙂

    • I just make sure the batter has a decent consistency and add baking powder to make sure it rises…this seems to do the trick, so far at least 🙂 Maybe my chemist instincts are helping? hard to tell 🙂 the flowers were indeed gorgeous (the florist outdid herself!) which made it very easy to photograph them. I always find it amazing how much flowers can brighten a place, they are a great invention of nature 🙂

  2. Treedson says:

    this is going to be delicious, thanks for sharing. Certainly will try it.

  3. Friday Nimh says:

    OMG! I love you blog! You seriously rock!

  4. samokan says:

    That look oh, so good !!!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

