Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake

Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake

Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake

After first trying a persimmon a little while ago in a salad, I kept thinking about how great it would go in a cake. Unfortunately, these little fruit were a little too expensive at my grocery store so I had to put my baking plans aside for a while. Fortunately, my fiance found a bag of these little cuties at Costco for a fraction of the price at Dominick’s. Since they’re a little sweet, I wanted something tangy in the cake and I opted for Greek yogurt. This is mostly a breakfast cake, but it could work well as dessert as well. I have to admit I wasn’t sure how this would turn out as I just improvised the entire recipe. I was relieved it was edible once I tasted it πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • 2 Fuyu persimmons
  • juice and zest from 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 7 oz 2% Fage Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Remove the stem and peel the persimmons. Cut them into chunks and place them in a small bowl. Add the lemon juice and using a hand blender blend the persimmons until most of them are pureed, but there are still some small persimmon chunks left.Β 

In a medium bowl beat the sugars with the eggs, followed by the yogurt, oil and lemon zest. Stir in the persimmon mixture. Add the cinnamon, baking powder, salt and almond meal, followed by the flour in 1/2 cup increments. Mix until all combined.

Pour batter in a rectangular cake pan.

persimmon cake batter

persimmon cake batter

Bake until golden-brown and a toothpick comes out clean (~ 50 min).

baked persimmon cake

baked persimmon cake

Let cool, cut in squares and enjoy!

Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake Squares

Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake Squares

The cake turned out sweet and tangy and super-moist. Just to make sure I wasn’t biased, I took some to work and a few of my co-workers even asked for seconds! Some were skeptical when they heard persimmon, so if you’ve tried this little fruit and like it please share your love with your friends to make it more popular πŸ™‚

More information about persimmons can be found here.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake

  1. huumm sounds really interesting…never would have thought about persimmon bars…sounds delish…lovely post..sarah

  2. explodyfull says:

    sounds interesting…I have only had persimmons fresh. Sounds exciting in cake form

  3. I always see these and say, “what am i going to do with a persimmon?” Now i have a recipe. Thanks!

  4. Look at you! I could never come up with my own recipe — baking is too scientific for me πŸ™‚ I love it! Sounds lovely!

  5. Just found your blog, and I LOVE IT! I myself just got 50 followers, and would love it if you checked out my blog. This recipe, by the way, looks to DIE for. YUM!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

