Yogurt Chicken with Cilantro Chutney and Almond Tri-Color Quinoa

yogurt chicken with cilantro chutney

yogurt chicken with cilantro chutney

Every year, I check out the Bon Appetit Food Lover’s Cleanse, and while I don’t actually follow the cleanse, I do pick a few recipes to try out. The cleanse starts right after the New Year’s so I am usually still trying to empty my fridge of cheese and other non-cleanse approved items in order to prevent food waste and it makes it difficult to follow the 2 week plan. Also, this year, I had my Chicago Polar Dash race and these meals do require some advanced planning and sometimes they’re not the most energy infusing dishes. Of course, a super-woman could have juggled training workouts, food cleanse and work, but I decided for my sanity it was best not to attempt it 🙂 This year, the recipes did however look a little less involved and I am probably going to try to make a few more in the near future. Do let me know if you’ve made some of them and have any favorites 😉

Ingredients (serves 2, cleansing size):

Adapted from Bon Appetit

  • 1 big skinless, boneless chicken breast
  • half of a 7oz Fage 2% greek yogurt container
  • 1 garlic clove, grated (I used my zester, so much better than a grater!)
  • 1 Tb vegetable oil
  • salt, pinch of cayenne and pinch of paprika
  • Chutney: 1/2 bunch cilantro, 1/2 jalapeño, juice from 1/2 lime, 1 Tb ginger, 2 Tb coconut flakes, salt
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1/2 cup tri-color quinoa
  • 3/4 cup beef broth (or any broth really)
  • 2 Tb sliced almonds

Mix together the yogurt, garlic, oil and spices until smooth. Place marinade in a ziploc bag, add chicken and move around to coat uniformly. Let marinate in the refrigerator for 30 min – 1 day. 

For the chutney, process all the ingredients in a food chopper/processor to your desired smoothness level. I like mine to be finely chopped, but not a paste.

Preheat oven to 425 F. Brush a baking pan with oil, add chicken breast. Bake chicken for 20 – 30 min (mine was pretty big so it took closer to 30 min in my convection oven; a meat thermometer should read 160F). Turn broiler on and broil chicken for 3-5 min, until chicken gets pretty brown spots 😉

Meanwhile, make the quinoa. Heat up the oil in a sauce pan over medium heat. Add shallot and cook until translucent. Add the quinoa and cook until toasty and smelling nutty, ~ 5 min. Add broth, bring to a boil, reduce to simmer and cook until quinoa is tender (~ 25 min, less if using white quinoa only). Fluff up the quinoa and let it sit for a 5 min to absorb any leftover liquid. Stir in the almonds and adjust seasoning (I didn’t add any extra salt since I was using the broth).

Almond tri-color quinoa

Almond tri-color quinoa

Slice chicken and serve with almond quinoa. Top with the chutney.

Chicken breast with cilantro chutney

Chicken breast with cilantro chutney

This was a very flavorful dish and the chicken was sooo moist! As you may have noticed from my previous recipes, I love cilantro chutneys, chimichuris, etc, but it’s hard not to when it gives so much flavor to any dish! I usually keep my quinoa pretty basic, but this time I decided to infuse some flavor by cooking it with the shallot and broth and it did taste quite flavorful and it reheated nicely in the microwave for lunch the next day, always a bonus 😉

If you’re looking for more cleanse recipes, last year I made this Pumpkin Shrimp Curry and this Salmon with Pumpkin Seed Pesto. Both very very tasty as well 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yogurt Chicken with Cilantro Chutney and Almond Tri-Color Quinoa

  1. yum..i bet the yogurt does make the chicken super moist…lovely post..sarah

  2. Polar BEar Race!?! Wow. Love this idea…just made quinoa last night for something else, wonder if I can adapt….

  3. YES! this looks sooo good. a very good trick, too, the way to cook the chicken! Breasts can be so dry when cooked improperly. Ew. I have chicken, almonds and quinoa at home, I just need the fresh herbs to make this! Sounds so good, and even though this seems like more of a chimichurri than a chutney, i agree that the fresh flavors must be delightful.

    I like your realism about working, racing, cooking, blogging, and not wasting food… we can’t do everything perfectly all the time!… like you, i dont want to waste food, and have to realize my time and energy limits 🙂

    • I am still confused about the chimichurri vs chutney…the recipe called it a chutney and it does have ginger and coconut which distinguish it from a chimichurri…regardless, it is very tasty 🙂 eh, I have my brief moments of realism from time to time, but I still need to work on optimizing how I divide my time 😉

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

