Roasted Rosemary Chestnuts

roasted rosemary chestnuts

roasted rosemary chestnuts

Yesterday, I came home to find that the last of the fans was gone as well, which means I now once again have a dry apartment! I almost did a happy dance 🙂 but instead, I tried to vacuum as much of the blown around debris as possible. My poor plants lost quite a few leaves and flowers, but I hope they will be able to forget the traumatic fans now that they’re once again safely positioned on the window seal.

Back to the food, this is my last post from the Christmas Eve meal! Technically, roasted chestnuts are supposed to be very popular in Europe, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a one! I bought some a few years ago to make cookies, but unfortunately by the time I had time for them they went bad 😦 Since then, I haven’t seen them in the store, until this year! As soon as I saw them I knew I wanted to incorporate them somehow in my Christmas menu. I used this recipe from BA and they turned out delicious!

Ingredients (serves 2 as side):

  • 1 lb unshelled chestnuts
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pepper

Preheat oven to 425 F. Line a baking pan with aluminum foil. Prepare the chestnuts by cutting an X through the skin of the round side. I used my new curved knife, which made it a little easier to penetrate the skin.

X-ed chestnuts

X-ed chestnuts

Soak chestnuts in water for about a minute. Drain, dry and place in a medium bowl. Melt the butter and mix with the rosemary, salt, pepper and nutmeg and pour over the chestnuts. Shake the bowl until the chestnuts are all coated with the buttery mix. Place chestnuts into the pan.

buttered chestnuts

buttered chestnuts

Gather the foil around the chestnuts a bit.

chestnuts ready to be baked

chestnuts ready to be baked

Baked until cooked through (~45 minutes). The X will widen and some of the skin will curl up.

Serve hot as a side for your favorite dish 😉 I served it with my rib roast!

roasted buttery rosemary chestnuts

roasted buttery rosemary chestnuts

These were quite good. A bit time consuming to peel off, but worth it for their sweet buttery taste. And they definitely made the meal a little more Christmassy 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roasted Rosemary Chestnuts

  1. I think these look amazing! And they feel like a really festive treat. ^_^

  2. ChicFitChef says:

    I agree with deliciouslynell- very festive! 🙂

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

