Rib Roast with Tapenade

beautiful rib roast!

beautiful rib roast!

Today I came home to find only one of the three annoying fans in my apartment, so there is hope for my sanity after all :-) Hopefully, I can slowly get my apartment back into shape and finish my holiday posts!

For Christmas, we went over to one of my friends, but for Christmas Eve I cooked a nice dinner at home. The star of the meal was this rib roast from Bon Appetit, followed by this lovely tart for dessert. I’ve always wanted to make a rib roast because they look so cool, but you first need to find the roast and then have half a day available to wait for it to cook. Armed with my Epicurius app again, I hit the grocery store to find a roast in need of a loving home for Christmas Eve ;-) Luckily, after searching for a bit, I was able to get one of the last two pieces of roast that were hidden in a lonely corner of the fridge.

Ingredients (serves 4):

  • Tapenade: 1/2 cup pitted Kalamata olives, 1/2 cup green olives, 2 Tb olive oil, 1 Tb chopped thyme, 1 Tb capers, 1 Tb chopped rosemary, 2 garlic cloves, 1 anchovy
  • 5 lbs standing bone-in beef rib roast (about 2 bones)
  • salt (~ 1 Tb) and pepper
  • 1/2 cup red wine (I used Little Penguin Pinot Noir because it’s cute :-))
  • 1 cup turkey stock (if you have any from Thanksgiving, if not chicken or beef)
  • 1 sprig thyme
  • 1/2 Tb butter
  • 1/2 Tb flour

One night before, make the tapenade by coarsely chopping all the ingredients in a processor. Place plastic wrap on top of a baking sheet, place roast on top and rub with salt, pepper and tapenade. If the fat is thicker than 1/4″ in some parts, cut between the fat and the meat and put the tapenade under the fat. Cover back with the fat and secure with twine. Ideally, most of the fat will be pre-removed by the butcher before you buy the roast. 

IMG_7184Wrap the roast in plastic wrap, using two pieces if necessary and let marinate in the fridge overnight.

Next day, preheat oven to 425 F. Let the roast come to room temperature (~ 1 hr). Remove plastic wrap, place roast on a roasting sheet, add 1 cup of water to the pan and place it in the oven. Roast for 40 min or until golden brown. Reduce heat to 325 F and roast for 1 1/2 hrs or until the roast reaches the desired temperature (~ 120 F for medium rare). Let roast rest for half an hour.

While the roast is resting, prepare the sauce. Disregard the fat from the roasting pan, add wine, place over medium heat and cook until all the brown bits are dissolved. Transfer liquid to a pan, bring to a boil, reduce to simmer and cook until reduced my half (5 – 10 min). Add broth, thyme and continue cooking for 15 min or until the sauce is reduced to about 1/2 cup.

In a small bowl, blend the butter and flour using a fork. Add the flour mixture to the sauce and cook until the sauce is thick enough to coat the back of the spoon. Season with salt and pepper if needed.

Carve the roast! I placed the roast standing with the bones toward my left. I sliced from top down a thin slice to remove the little fat and tapenade bits. Afterwards, I carved sliced of desired thickness across the face towards the bone and released them by cutting along the bone. Serve with your preferred sides and sauce on top or on the side.

sliced roast, topped with sauce

sliced roast, topped with sauce

This roast turned out so beautiful, delicious and perfectly cooked! I have to admit, I was a little nervous when I was cutting into it. My piece was half the size called for in the recipe, but it still required the same cooking time, probably because it’s mostly based on the thickness. Very rarely cooking times are so spot on! There was a big piece of fat “hiding” (well, maybe it was expected? this was my first roast so I surprised to find it) in the middle, but the meat was so moist, tender and tasty that the fat was easily ignored ;-)

I feel like this roast barely required any effort. It does take a while to cook, but it’s mostly inactive time. I will definitely be making this again, and I hope you give it a try as well. You won’t regret it ;-)

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rib Roast with Tapenade

  1. Love, love, love prime rib roast. Nicely done.

  2. Looks beautiful. Really like the idea of olives on a roast.

  3. Gorgeous! I would love to make this! I love that you served roasted chesnuts on the side… very Christmasy :)

    • you should definitely give this a try if you have the time, as I think it will make a nice weekend dinner! I’ve always wanted to cook with chestnuts and they had some at the store over Christmas and I gave them a try. they were quite good, I will post the recipe soon ;-)

  4. Min says:

    Looks amazing and mouth-watering! Way to go! I just recently started appreciating olives (I know I know..crazy, right?) so I can’t wait to try this tapenade! What’s your favorite olives?

    • not crazy at all, many people don’t like olives, but I believe it’s mostly because they’ve had one bad experience and never gave the poor olives a second chance :-) I find that the Kalamatas are the most consistent in terms of taste, but I also love big green olives. The great thing about this dish is that the tapenade is mostly keeping the roast moist, and while it infuses it with flavor, you can barely feel the taste of olives, if at all…so you can easily serve it to non-olive lovers ;-)

  5. Pingback: Roasted Rosemary Chestnuts | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

