Persimmon Baby Arugula Salad

Persimmon Arugula Salad

Persimmon Arugula Salad

Happy New Year my dear blog readers! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful holiday break full of good food and good company πŸ˜‰

I’m afraid, I had some unexpected guests, three quite loud industrial fans! You see, this past Friday, a water pipe broke some floors above my apt and water came gushing down through the wall and damaging the floor. Thankfully, my fiance was home at the time and he was able to soak up the water before it reached any my belongings. The building’s insurance company has to pay for all the damage done to the walls (it seems the policy doesn’t cover the floor, so my landlady will have to deal with that damage) so they were quite quick in coming, punching holes through the wall and placing the fans. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t want any mold, but the fans are really annoying! Given the circumstances, we tried not to spend too much time at home and ended up dining out, going to the movies, etc. The good thing is that I finally got to watch Skyfall, James Bond never gets old πŸ™‚ Movies these days are quite long (> 2hrs), so I was happy Skyfall had enough action packed so I didn’t get bored. The presence of the fans also meant, that I didn’t get my holiday posts out either, but I am hopeful they will get removed this week and my life will get back to normal. Fingers crossed!

However, last night I decided to turn off the fans and have a home cooked meal for New Year’s Eve. I was trying to figure out a side dish, when I laid my eyes on these beautiful persimmons. I have seen quite a few persimmon recipes, but I’ve never had a chance to have a persimmon, that’s until last night. I wanted something simple, so a quick search showed up this WSJ salad. I love arugula, so this was an easy choice for a side dish πŸ™‚

Ingredients (serves 2 as a side):

  • 1 persimmon
  • 2 cups baby arugula
  • juice from 1/3 big lemon
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • parmesan shavings
  • salt and pepper

Trim the ends of the persimmon, peel if you want to. I didn’t peel mine this time, but I think I will do it next time. Cut persimmon in half lengthwise and then slice each half in 6 slices. Toss persimmon slices with lemon juice, salt and olive oil in a small bowl. Let sit for 5 minutes.Β 

persimmon slices

persimmon slices

 

Arrange arugula on a plate, top with persimmon, drizzle with juice from the persimmon. Top with parmesan shavings and freshly ground pepper. Enjoy!

This salad was delicious: the sweetness of the persimmon went great with the lemon juice dressing, the peppery taste of the arugula and the salty parmesan shavings.

I think the persimmons would make some great desserts, but I will first have to find cheaper ones. At $2 a piece, a persimmon cake would be a little out of my budget πŸ™‚

If you’ve had them, do you like persimmons, if not, are you willing to try them? πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Persimmon Baby Arugula Salad

  1. how awful that your apartment nearly flooded! i’m sorry to hear this. earlier this year, we had a huge leak in my office during a rain storm. water was pouring in from the ceiling, and later the repairmen had us run those fans for three weeks! and a de-humidifier. it was so loud, it was difficult to answer phone calls! i hope your home is back to normal soon! i have never eaten a persimmon… i would love to try one!

    • three weeks?!?! I sure hope this is not the case with my wall or I may go a little insane…or move into lab πŸ™‚ I hope you get to try a persimmon soon, I think you will like it πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Persimmon Greek Yogurt Cake | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

