Happy Holidays

Holiday Train in Chicago

Holiday Train in Chicago

I am not sure if it’s the warmer weather, work, but this year Christmas has arrived very fast…a little too fast for me to be honest. I had to scramble to get most of my gifts done and there are still some “should I have bought a present for…?” unanswered questions, but I figured Santa is not the only one sending gifts, there is always Father Frost that can deliver lateΒ presents. Santa and Christmas were banned in communist Romania, so instead they came up with Father Frost (Mos Gerila) who delivers presents on New Year’s. Unlike, Santa, who in my childhood used to make a physical appearance (my parents had a mask, hat and they would usually find some red cloth to wrap up a neighbor in :-)), Father Frost was not to be seen so it could take some time before the presents were discovered. I remember one year, Father Frost, brought me an umbrella and he left it hanging on one of the Christmas tree branches, which caused the tree to swing quite a bit. Needless to say, that one year I got my present very fast πŸ™‚

So it would come to no surprise, that my Christmas cooking dishes haven’t been picked yet! Will I go with some of Bon Appetit’s Classic Christmas dishes, will I pick a holiday roast recipe from Saveur, will I go for pork which is a Romanian Christmas staple, or will I pick other meat, or maybe even veggies…so many options! One thing is certain, there will be lots of hopefully delicious food, and I will probably experiment with some new recipes. Why settle for tried and true recipes, when you can try new untested dishes? πŸ™‚

If you’re in my situation, let me recommend my last Christmas meal’s star, this prosciutto wrapped stuffed pork loin, which was really delicious and easy to portion. Everyone marveled at its beauty and taste!

Prosciutto Wrapped Stuffed Pork Loin

Prosciutto Wrapped Stuffed Pork Loin

When it comes to dessert, you can’t go wrong with any of my cookies/dessert recipes, and some are high on my top posts list this week as expected.

Regardless, I am sure whatever you will cook/buy/order will be appreciated by your family and friends, since quite often over the holidays, the company is more important than the actual food πŸ˜‰

I am very grateful for all of you, my readers! This blog has come way further than I expected it to when I first started. I wish you wonderful holidays. Stay safe and warm if living in colder climates. Consider giving some of your time to listen to your friends, volunteer, or if your finances allow you, giving to the ones less fortunate.

May Santa bring you what you want most, but even if he doesn’t, it seems your happiness level won’t be affected much as shown in this TED talk πŸ˜‰ I think it goes to prove why kids who believe in Santa are much happier Christmas day, than teenagers/adults that have stricter expectations πŸ™‚

happy holidays,

-Andreea

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Holidays

  1. putneyfarm says:

    Beautiful roast…well done!

  2. I cant believe Santa was banned! That seems so absurd. I hope he brought you all you wished for this year πŸ™‚ We got super-spoiled by my husband’s family, who are the best gift-givers in the world. We had leg of lamb for our Christmas dinner! I’m sure whatever you cooked was AMAZing! πŸ™‚

  3. Petric says:

    Mos Craciun wasn’t banned at all. Just was not encouraged. As child I went caroling every year and later on other kids did the same. People are exaggerating. I do not defend the communist regime but Romania was not Soviet Union in this case.

    • well, I was very young under the Communism, but given the banning of public display or religion and the prosecution of the clergy, I can see how “not encouraged” was synonymous to “banned” for some people. And yes, I agree, it could have been worse depending on where you lived and what job you had. Ironically, my Russian friends claim Romania was worse than Russia, but it’s probably because different people were affected differently by the regime.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

