Cardamom-Orange Sugar Cookies

Cardamon-Orange Sugar Cookies

Cardamom-Orange Sugar Cookies

As I’ve mentioned before, I loooove cookie season so it will come as no surprise, that when asked to bring something to share at a holiday party, I started searching for new cookies recipes. I didn’t have a lot of time, so I was looking for something that would be relatively fast to make (cookies usually are, but the dough needs to be chilled most of the time) and won’t require a trip to the grocery store. I almost made cardamom cookies last year, so I was looking for that recipe, when I saw these! The night before, I had purchased a bag of very nice smelling oranges, so I knew I had to make them! In communist Romania, we would only get oranges for Christmas so I’ve always associated them with the holidays. It felt a little strange walking down orange tree alleys in California during college 🙂 Anyways, back to the recipe!

Ingredients (3-4 dozen):

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg

In a large bowl, beat butter until softened (2-3 min). Add sugar gradually and beat until fluffy (3-5 min). Beat the egg, followed by the vanilla, orange zest, salt and cardamom. Beat in a third of the flour. Stir in the remaining flour. 

cookie dough

cookie dough

Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 45 min – 1 hr so it can harden and be easier to roll/cut. I put mine in the freezer for a little bit to speed up the process 🙂

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Roll out the dough to 1/8 – 1/4 inch on a floured surface. Using your favorite holiday cutters, cut out cookies. Place them about 1/2 inch apart. You may have to refrigerate the dough between cutting sessions to firm up, or keep the cut out dough in the fridge so they don’t get too soft. Bake until light golden brown (10 min for my convection oven). Remove cookies and let cool.

baked cardamom orange sugar cookies

baked cardamom orange sugar cookies

These cookies were very flavorful, but not overpowering and quite easy to make! I will definitely be making these again. Maybe if we have a real winter in Chicago this year, I can extend the cookie season until March 🙂 Speaking of which, we may finally get snow tonight!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cardamom-Orange Sugar Cookies

  1. Yum! Cardamom and orange – such a great combination!

  2. I hope you get your snow! i’m sure we won’t… snow is very rare here… but i can dream 🙂 i love baked goods with cardamom, its such wonderful flavor! these sound wonderful! Merry Christmas!

    • well, we sort of got some snow blown in the wind, but it didn’t stick! very disappointing after so many train delays, flight cancellations, warning…oh, well, I’ll keep hoping 🙂 I think this is my first dessert with cardamom, but it won’t be the last, it is great! Merry Christmas to you too 😉

  3. Pingback: Norwegian-Cardamom Almond Tart | the windy kitchen

  4. Anne says:

    Hello, how are you? I’m from Singapore. While thinking of new cookies to bake for the coming Chinese New Year, I chanced upon your blog, staring at your flavourful and delicious cookies, I decided to bake your orange cookies for my family. I believe my family will like it too. Thanks for your recipe. Keep up the good work! Cheers:D

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

