Green Beans in Brown Butter and Ginger Fish Sauce

green beans, ginger

green beans in brown butter and ginger fish sauce

As I mentioned in my previous post, this year for Thanksgiving I did my best to include all the traditional veggies in the meal. I made these Momofuku’s brussels sprouts with a fish sauce vinaigrette, these Smitten Kitchen sweet potatoes with delicious goat cheese, cranberry and pecan topping and for the green beans, I adapted a recipe from the “Switching Sides” article in WSJ. I picked this recipe because it is simple, the green beans can be blanched a few hours in advance and I could just finish the dish in 10-15 minutes right before setting up the dinner. Also, the ingredients seemed right for a very flavorful dish, and this dish indeed was very vibrant and elevated the green beans to a new flavor level. I am convinced even some non-green beans fans would enjoy this dish πŸ˜‰

Ingredients (serves 8-10 as side):

  • 2 lbs green beans
  • 4 Tb butter
  • 4 Tb sherry (or white wine)
  • 4 Tb minced ginger
  • 1 -2 tsp red chili flakes (I used 2, but I felt it was a bit too spicy)
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 cup of toasted sliced almonds

Start by trimming your green beans. I sliced mine in half, but that’s optional.

trimmed green beans

Blanch the green beans in a large pot of salted boiling water for 3 -5 min. Drain them, rinse them in cold water or place them in an iced water bowl. Place the drained green beans on paper towels and let them drain completely.

trimmed drained green beans

Mix the next ingredients, except for the almonds, in a bowl and have it ready by the stove. Meanwhile, attend to your other little jobs before guests arrive πŸ™‚ There were a few too many people and bit too much food in the kitchen by the time I started cooking them, and I stopped taking pictures 😦

When getting close to dinner time, melt the butter in a large skillet over high heat and cook until browned (3-5 min). Reduce the heat to medium – high and carefully add the green beans. Add the ginger fish sauce mix from the bowl and cook until the green beans are cooked (about 10 min for mine, recipe suggested 2-3 min, but maybe it’s because their green beans look skinnier). To test for doneness I removed one green bean, cut a small piece with a knife and tasted it. It is important to taste them especially since they can cook in matter of minutes and no one likes mushy green beans…at least no one I know πŸ™‚ Stir in the toasted almonds and serve with turkey, or something else or just by themselves!

green beans in brown butter and ginger fish sauce

green beans in brown butter and ginger fish sauce

So far, this is my favorite green bean recipe and I will probably make it many more times. It is really easy to make and it tastes amazing! Also, it reheats very nicely the next day!

Did you make green beans for Thanksgiving? Any favorite green beans recipes?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Green Beans in Brown Butter and Ginger Fish Sauce

  1. I’m game! Very fusion. Sounds (and looks) incredibly good!

  2. Pingback: Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

