Pumpkin Pecan Pie

I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving! I certainly did. There is nothing better than enjoying copious quantities of good food in the company of one’s dearest friends. One of my friends even flew from Boston to be with us! I have to admit, graduate school would have been so much more miserable without my friends and I am very grateful for having met them. This year, one of my American friends was not able to make it home and be with her family, so she decided we were going to have a traditional Thanksgiving with turkey, all the important sides and of course pie. I made this pie a few years ago and she specifically requested it for our Thanksgiving meal. This is pretty much two pies in one, but the result is so much better than just the added qualities of each pie individually. One of our friends actually doesn’t like pumpkin nor pecan pie, but she loved this one and kept going for seconds…so even if you don’t like the two pies, give this a chance and it may surprise you πŸ˜‰ The original recipe can be found here. I adjusted the sugar content just a bit because a lot of people like their pies sweet, but you could definitely reduce it further.

Ingredients (makes 1 9″ pie):

  • 1 pie crust
  • 1 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tb heavy cream
  • 1 Tb unsalted buttered, softened (or melted)
  • 1 Tb vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup dar corn syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 Tb butter, melted
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 cup pecan pieces

Make the pie crust. Refrigerate for ~ 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 325 F. Make the pecan syrup by whisking together all the ingredients except the pecans. Gently stir in the pecans.

Make the pumpkin filling by whisking together all the ingredients. The small white clumps are butter pieces. Next time I will probably choose to melt the butter.

Roll out your crust. Carefully place it in the pie dish.

If the crust gets too soft (it can happen especially if your kitchen is too hot from all the cooking :-)), chill it for 10-15 min. If not, add your pumpkin mix to the crust. Carefully add the pecan syrup and try to arrange the pecan pieces nicely on the top.

Bake in the preheated oven for about 1 hr and 45 min, or until a tester comes out clean. This is a lot of filling, so it does take this long to cook.

Let cool and serve with whipped cream, ice cream, whiskey butter sauce or just by itself πŸ˜‰

What is your favorite Thanksgiving pie?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pumpkin Pecan Pie

  1. magentmama says:

    It looks just divine! When I lived in New York I used to eat this every Thanksgiving. Here in Sicily we don’t find pecans. But we have lots of pumpkins:) I am following you from Sicily’s windy city, Trapani:)

    • it’s a shame they don’t have pecans in Europe. I wonder how it would taste with walnuts. It may be worth a try. Thanks for following my blog πŸ˜‰ I’ve never been to Sicily, but it is on my list of places to travel to once I find a real job πŸ™‚

  2. Dima says:

    I testify that it was FABULOUS! As well as our whole Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

  3. rachel says:

    I love pumpkin pie, but never been a huge fan of pecan pie… I need to try this!

  4. Sara Ann says:

    This sounds like an awesome combination of the 2 pies! I will have to try! πŸ™‚

  5. Katie says:

    Pumpkin pie = great
    Pecan pie = great
    Pumpkin pecan pie = double super great?
    Yes, I think so.

  6. Very nice. I do a sweet potato pecan pie out of Paul Prudhomme’s cookbook that is similar. Love the whiskey butter sauce to go with it.

    • I haven’t tried making a sweet potato pie yet, but anything with pecans should be delicious πŸ™‚ I actually didn’t make the whiskey sauce due to time constraints, but instead had madagascar vanilla ice cream…quite tasty πŸ˜‰

  7. ChicFitChef says:

    Love this! I”m curious about sweet potato pecan pie- I made sweet potato pie this Thanksgiving and it was good but needed a little somethin’ somethin’. Thanks for the ideas! πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Iced Pumpkin Cookies | the windy kitchen

  9. Pingback: Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

