Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Pecans

I think it was about 2 years ago when I first bought a few Brussels sprouts to figure out if I like them or not. I figured I like cabbage so the smell shouldn’t bother me too much and also, they’re not supposed to smell bad if cooked properly πŸ™‚ Luckily, I was spared of the yucky smell since I found a roasted Brussels sprouts recipe (part of the south beach diet I believe) that resulted in absolutely delicious sprouts! That was the moment I fell in love with these cute little cabbages and I have been ordering and cooking them quite often. Trader Joe’s has the actual stalks on sale now and I couldn’t resist buying one, even though it was quite a few sprouts! I figured I can make a batch of my favorite recipe and then also experiment with other recipes πŸ™‚ The ingredients bellow are for my healthier version, but you can either opt to make them more decadent by adding more butter, gorgonzola cheese and/or bacon/pancetta or make them vegan by using olive oil instead of the butter.

Ingredients (serves 2 – 3 as a side dish):

  • 3/4 – 1 lb Brussels sprouts
  • olive oil for brushing the pan
  • 2 Tb melted unsalted butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 375 – 400 F (I used 375F in my convection oven). Brush a baking dish with olive oil.Β Cut the Brussels sprouts into quarters keeping the tiny leaves that fall off since they will turn into nice crispy chips. In a medium sized bowl, mix the sprouts with the melted butter and generously season with salt an pepper. Shake/mix them until uniformly covered in butter and seasoning. Arrange the sprouts in the baking dish in a single layer. Sprinkle the chopped pecans on top.

 

Bake until the sprouts are tender and the outer leaves are crispy and golden-brown (~ 30 minutes). Serve warm!Β These are so good, that sometimes I just have a bowl as my whole dinner πŸ™‚

Are you Brussels sprouts lover or hater? πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Pecans

  1. I’ve never been a fan of brussel sprouts but your dish looks great – I might have to give it a try and let it change my mind!

  2. i could def eat a bowl of brussels sprouts for dinner – i’m going to have to try this recipe!!! thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  3. I love brussel sprouts!!!!! AND bacon!!!!!!! The crunchy pecans are a nice added touch. πŸ™‚

  4. A lover… especially with the aforementioned pancetta!

  5. Yumm — i love these sprouts, too! cabbage and all it’s family are always wonderul in my book πŸ™‚ this sounds like a really good and easy Thanksgiving side, yes? I am realizing that i am so very behind and probably will not post a single Thanksgiving recipe! ah, well… we can’t win ’em all can we πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: A Few Thanksgiving Suggestions | the windy kitchen

  7. Pingback: Polenta with Duck Confit, Mushrooms, and Fried Egg | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

