Chicken and Mushroom Pasta Dinner

Can you believe my first 5K race is this Sunday?!?!?! I can’t, time has flown by so quickly! I know I haven’t posted much lately, but it’s been a bit harder since I’ve been trying to squeeze in outdoor runs before the sunset and some core classes to make sure I’ll be injury free on Sunday. So far my back has behaved and I should be able to finish the race…but the main question right now is what to wear? 🙂 Any advice on running at 7am in a ~35 degree weather? I’ve ran in 45 degree weather just fine, but I haven’t been able to test the 30s since the temperatures just dropped this week 😦

Anyways, I’ve read that pasta is a good pre-race meal and since it’s been way too long since my last pasta dish, I decided to try to make another quick pasta dinner. Also, I’ve taken some core classes focusing on smaller muscles and was told protein will help with soreness, so I picked chicken as my protein of choice. Some veggies (broccoli?) would make this dish more colorful, but after my run last night the last thing I wanted to put in between me and my dinner was a trip to the grocery store 🙂

Ingredients (1-2 servings*)

  • 1 cup dry pasta (I used rotini)
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 2 -3 Tb onion, diced
  • 1 Tb spicy pepper or 1 tsp red pepper flakes (I used some random long red pepper from Farmer’s Market that had no label, but it was spicy :-))
  • 1 chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces
  • 4 crimini mushrooms, halved and sliced
  • 1 Tb butter
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • parmesan cheese (~1/4 cup)
  • salt to taste

Bring a pot of water to boil. Add salt and a bit of olive oil. Drop in the pasta and cook according to the package (8-10 min). Drain.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion, pepper and chicken and cook until chicken is no longer pink stirring from time to time (~ 10 min). For the mushrooms, I melted the butter in a separate pan over medium heat. Added the mushrooms and cooked them until soft and reduced to about half their size.

Add mushrooms to the skillet with chicken. Deglaze with the white wine and boil until the liquid reduces in half. Add the pasta and salt to taste (the parmesan is salty so you may want to it to taste a little on the under seasoned side). Cook until warmed through. You can add cream instead of wine, but I was going for a slightly healthier pasta dish. Bonus to using the wine is that you can have a glass with dinner…since the bottle is already open 🙂

Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and enjoy…with a glass of wine maybe 😉

*this dish is really 2 servings, but since 1 serving look a little odd on the plate, the plate in the picture has 2 servings. This shows how much were used to overeating when it comes to pasta serving sizes!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chicken and Mushroom Pasta Dinner

  1. Sean Breslin says:

    Looks delicious!

  2. This sounds sooooo good!! Awesome pre-race carbo load! 🙂 Your race was today, yes? How did it go? How have you dealt with the super-chilly weather? Brrr…. I haven’t run in anything that cold, yet. I have always been a summer-only runner, until this year. I just bought a headband that is for holding my hair back and also warming my ears. Warm ears go far on a chilly run! And gloves, I always think. Nose, ears and fingers are always my chilliest appendages. I hope you’lll give me your advice for cold-weather running! And I hope you had fun today! I am running a 5k this Saturday 🙂 I live in a part of Oregon that rains 9 months of the year so… I’m sure it wil be soggy.

    • well, I finished the race in pretty good condition and with a smile, but there were a few things that made it difficult to fully explore my potential for a better time 🙂 I will post this week on the race and have a few pictures. The headband is a great idea! I love my Champion one which even has a hole for my pony tail!!! The gloves were also much appreciated at the beginning and I could keep a tissue in one of them for my nose. When it got warm, I just tucked one glove under my SPIbelt. if it’s ~45, I think a long sleeve running shirt will do (I got all my clothes from Target, Champion brand), but if it’s in the 30s I would wear a cold compression shirt and another long sleeve on top (which I now regret not doing). Some people opted on wearing a top layer they didn’t care too much about and then throw it on the side so it can get donated. Maybe a rain poncho/garbage bag would be useful for you if it rains at least while you wait at the start line.

      • Good tips!! And glad to hear that you shop so frugally at Target…. man athletic gear can be spendy! I look forward to hearing about your race here on the blog 🙂

      • I really like Target! despite rumors that running is a cheap sport, registering for the race and buying cold weather clothes was not cheap. Plus, the Champion polyester running clothes feel awesome 😉

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

