Delicious Pumpkin Bread with Pecans

 

For the past few weeks, I’ve been thinking on and off about what to do with the pumpkin I froze a while ago since it is the season, but never came to a decisive conclusion. My ah-ha moment came when I was browsing for recipes for a housewarming party and saw this pumpkin bread recipe in my cooks illustrated magazine! The recipe won double points since it made 2 loaves and I needed something to bring for breakfast at a meeting next day. I love recipes that can be both dessert and breakfast sweets 🙂 Believe it or not, this was the first time I made pumpkin bread so I only made a few adjustments to adjust for what I had on hand and I also lowered the sugar content.

Ingredients (makes 2 loaves):

  • topping: 5 Tb packed brown sugar, 1 Tb flour, 1 Tb softened butter, 1 tsp cinnamon, pinch of salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, ground
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg, ground
  • 1/4 tsp cloves, ground
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3.5 oz cream cheese
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 almond milk + 2 tsp lime juice (or 1/4 cup buttermilk)
  • 1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped

First, make the topping by mixing the ingredients with a fork until homogenous. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease two bread loaf pans (I used one 9×5 and one 8 1/2 x 4 1/2). You may need to adjust the cooking time a bit depending on your size pan.

Pour pumpkin puree in a sauce pan, mix with the salt and spices and cook on medium heat until reduced to 1 1/2 cups. I just cooked it for about 8 minutes until the pumpkin absorbed the spices and had the nice cooked pumpkin taste. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking soda and baking powder. After the pumpkin is cooked, remove it from heat and stir in the sugar, brown sugar, oil and cream cheese. Let stand for a few minutes for the cream cheese to soften and then whisk everything together until homogenous. This is a good step to check if you need to add more sugar!

Whisk the eggs and milk mix first, then whisk them into the pumpkin mix. Fold in the flour mixture and nuts.

 

Divide batter between the two pans. Crumble the topping on top.

Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a taster comes out clean. My small pan took 45 min, while the bigger one took closer to 55 min. I didn’t divide the batter equally, I just placed enough in both pans until it got to a similar level. There is actually not that much batter volume, but it will almost triple while baking!

Let cool for a few hours (or about an hour if in a hurry :-)). Serve for dessert, breakfast, warm or room temperature.

This was really delicious and I am not sure why I haven’t made pumpkin bread before. I loved the pecan’s crunch and the topping was delicious on it! I have to admit I was actually on the fence about making the topping, but I am happy I didn’t skip it since it does add a nice crunch and a little more sweetness to the bread. This can also be made into muffins!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Delicious Pumpkin Bread with Pecans

  1. ChicFitChef says:

    I am SO trying this! Believe it or now but I’ve been looking for a pumpkin bread recipe! Will also be passing this along to friends. 🙂

  2. i think the pumpkin-cooking step is so interesting! maybe thats why my fave pumpkin bread recipe is so much lighter in color?… this sounds delicious!

    • this was my first pumpkin bread ever, but I do believe cooking the pumpkin helps with the flavors and color…and it makes the kitchen smell delicious before even putting the bread in the oven 🙂

  3. Pingback: Iced Pumpkin Cookies | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

