Chicken Vegetable Soup with Semolina Dumplings

I’ve been feeling a little under the weather so I was really craving some nice warm chicken soup. I made a little too much, but I really wanted to fit in all the veggies ๐Ÿ™‚ I decided to finish the soup with some semolina dumplings, but egg or noodles would work as well. I just wanted a little variety ๐Ÿ™‚ While, I still have a sore throat, the soup did help me feel better. I am assuming my training for the Hot Chocolate 5k is not helping my throat, but I can’t give it up since I am very bad at running and really need to train so I can finish it on time ๐Ÿ™‚

Any other foods I should try to help with my sore throat?

Ingredients (6-8 servings):

  • 2 – 3 skinless chicken thighs (or any chicken meat you have)
  • 2 parsnips, chopped
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 4 celery ribs, sliced
  • 1 – 2 potatoes
  • a handful of grape tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 jalapeรฑo, diced
  • 1 Trader Joe’s vegetable broth concentrate (optional)
  • 6-8 dumplings (7-8 Tb semolina, 2 tsp oil, 2 eggs, pinch of salt)
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped cilantro (optional)

The most time consuming part is chopping the veggies, but I really enjoyed seeing all the different colors coming together ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

 

Place your veggies and chicken in your soup pot. Cover with water and add salt (~1 tsp). I added a vegetable concentrate because I had it around, but it is totally optional since the soup already has so many veggies. You can also use vegetable broth, chicken broth, etc just make sure you pay attention to the sodium content as some of them can be very salty.ย Bring water to a boil, cover and simmer until the veggies are cooked through and the chicken is falling apart easily (1 – 2 hrs). Check it from time to time and remove any of the scum that forms. When cooked through, remove chicken from the soup, shred/chop it and put it back in. Bring soup to just bellow boiling.

Make the dumplings by mixing everything together with a fork. You should be able to see the streaks from the fork.ย 

Using a tablespoon slowly drop the dumplings in. If you keep the tablespoon in the hot soup, the dumpling mix will slowly drop into the soup. Is it okay if a little mix gets dispersed, but if your entire dumpling is falling apart, you need to add more semolina 1 Tb at a time. Cover the pot and let the soup simmer for 5 minutes. Flip the dumplings over, turn off the heat and let it sit for another 10-15 minutes.ย 

 

If all the dumplings don’t fit in the pot, just cook half, remove them and then cook the second half. Adjust the salt and serve warm topped with chopped cilantro and freshly ground pepper.

Nothing beats a bowl of nice hot soup when you’re feeling sick. I definitely needed this ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken Vegetable Soup with Semolina Dumplings

  1. your photo of this soup looks like a magazine!! i lovvvve dumpling soup, yum. be sure to take some rest even during your training if you’re sick… training is important, but your body needs energy to recover and heal when you’re fighting an infection. i’m sure i dont have to tell you that ๐Ÿ™‚ 5ks are fun! when is yours and where does hot chocolate come into it? my sore throat recommendation… whiskey, and hot tea, alternated ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. yes, I am resting, but I still try to hit the gym three times a week and walk/run so I don’t lose the momentum…it’s just my throat now, but otherwise I am feeling fine…very strange! the 5K is on Nov 4th and I mainly signed up because it is a Hot Chocolate run…oh, and because I needed a new work out challenge ๐Ÿ™‚ They give you hot chocolate, fondue and dippables at the end of the run. The picture of the finishers mug looks so yummy! I am debating printing a picture of it just in case I need motivation to finish the race ๐Ÿ™‚ here is the link http://www.hotchocolate15k.com/chicago/raceinfo/postrace/

  3. google says:

    Why viewers still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world
    the whole thing is presented on web?

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

