Avocado, Pear and Blue Cheese Salad with Honey Lime Dressing

I had to finish eating some pears that were getting close to their end and for variety I decided to use some in a salad. I still have some blue cheese left in the fridge from when I made the ribeye, there was a lonely avocado on the counter and the tomatoes were just an afterthought for a bit of color πŸ™‚ Since I wanted to take a pretty picture and I knew that if I mix everything together the yummy heavier ingredients will end up on the bottom, I chose to pre-mix the salad with the dressing, then nicely arrange the remaining ingredients on top and just drizzle some more dressing on top. This worked out pretty well and I think I may just use this method for all my future salads πŸ™‚

Ingredients (serves 1):

  • 1 handful lettuce, chopped
  • 1/2 cup baby arugula
  • 1 Tb onion, chopped
  • 1/2 pear, cored and sliced
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • 1 -2 Tb blue cheese
  • 1 small heirloom tomato
  • 1 -2 Tb dressing (3 Tb olive oil, 1 Tb lime juice, 1 tsp honey, salt and pepper)

The directions are pretty straightforward πŸ™‚ Whisk together the dressing ingredients. Mix the lettuce and arugula with 2 tsp – 1 Tb dressing. I used a plastic bowl that comes with a lid and just gave it a few shakes. It worked great! Place the dressed lettuce on a plate/bowl. Sprinkle the onion over. Arrange the pear, avocado and tomatoes on top of the lettuce. Sprinkle the blue cheese and then drizzle a bit more dressing. Enjoy!

I didn’t have any nuts, but this would probably go well with some toasted/caramelized walnuts or pecans. Crispy bacon would also be a nice addition, but thankfully I didn’t have any πŸ™‚ Btw, is anyone concerned about the possible shortage of bacon? I kinda like bacon and I am sure Julia Child’s stews wouldn’t be the same without some nice thick lardons 😦

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Avocado, Pear and Blue Cheese Salad with Honey Lime Dressing

  1. What a great salad. I love the flavours you picked.

  2. very pretty indeed πŸ™‚ being able to make a great dish from leftovers around the kitchen is a great skill!

    • a skill I am still working on πŸ™‚ I hate wasting food, but sometimes it is difficult to use all the herbs/veggies. I may start freezing some and/or making veggie broth.

      • Awesome idea!! i hate wasting food, too — i try to buy my produce and herbs in smaller batches, but sometimes i just can’t keep up. Veggie stock, now that’s smart πŸ™‚

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

