Ribeye Steak with Onions, Mushrooms and Bleu Cheese Sauce

Last night we were supposed to have a nice grilled steak with some still decent corn before the cold season starts, but the Chicago weather had something different in mind. Apparently, it started raining while I was still on the treadmill at the gym, but I didn’t notice it until I started stretching. I thought the lightning was a camera flash from someone who was taking a tour of the gym 🙂 The rain got even worse by the time I finished cooling down and there was obviously no way I could grill, but I do think this steak would look even better with some grill marks on it 🙂 I’ve lately been trying to incorporate a few more mushrooms into my cooking so I knew I wanted a mushrooms steak sauce, but I was undecided about what type of sauce (red wine vs cream) or what other ingredients it should contain. I found a onion-bleu cheese sauce by the Pioneer Woman and I decided that would probably go well with mushrooms, and it certainly did.

Ingredients (serves 2 hungry):

  • 2 thick ribeye steaks (mine were boneless, more than 1 inch thick)
  • 4 Tb butter
  • 1 Tb grapeseed oil (or vegetable, canola, etc)
  • 1/2 big yellow onion, sliced and quartered
  • 4 crimini mushrooms (1/4 lb) sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 spring rosemary
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 2 Tb water
  • 1/4 cup bleu cheese crumbles
  • salt and pepper

Melt 3 Tb butter over medium heat. Slice the onion and place in the hot pan. Cook until soft and turning brownish (5-7 min). Meanwhile, slice the mushrooms. Add them to the pan with onions and cook until they reduce in size (~5 min). Add the garlic and rosemary and cook until fragrant (~ 1 min). Stir in cream and water and cook until the sauce thickens. I added water because the cream was cooking too fast and I wanted to give the rosemary a little bit more time to release it’s flavor, but it’s totally optional. Salt and pepper to taste. Turn off the heat and stir in the bleu cheese.

Preheat oven to 400 F. For the steak, heat up 1 Tb oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Sear the steak on one side (2-3 minutes), flip over and add 1 Tb of butter (this is what Ramsay does on the F word, so I figured I would give it a try vs the traditional method of heating up the 1 Tb oil with 1 Tb butter from the beginning). Place the steak against the rim of the skillet so you can brown the edges and baste with some of the butter/oil mix for another 2-3 min. Transfer steak to the oven and cook for ~ 5min, or until the thermometer reads 135 F for medium rare. Remove steak and place on a plate to rest for 2-5 minutes. Don’t forget to salt and pepper the steak while it’s resting, which I totally did :-/

Serve with sauce and some green salad to make it look a little healthier 🙂 Disclaimer: I shared the giant steak with my fiance and didn’t actually eat it all by myself 😉 Whoever came up with the steak – bleu cheese pairing was a genius. The steak tasted delicious with the sauce! I was overall very pleased with this dinner. The steak was nice and pink on the inside, very moist and I didn’t smoke the apartment, which sometimes happens when I try to sear things as I don’t have a hood.

What’s your favorite steak sauce?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ribeye Steak with Onions, Mushrooms and Bleu Cheese Sauce

  1. I love bleu cheese. I also like it a lot with steak. Insofar as favorite steak sauce is concerned, a true french bordelaise sauce is my favorite. With ribeye steaks, however, I just like them seasoned and perfectly cooked. They are hands down my favorite steak.

  2. This sounds like an amazing recipe! It’s been too long since i cooked steaks for dinner. love the mushroom-blue-cheese sauce! YUM! I think last time i did steak, i made America’s Test Kitchen’s red-wine pan sauce, and it was so flippin delicious. Hard to go wrong, though…. i mean…. STEAK.

    • I usually improvise a red-wine pan sauce when I’m serving the steak with red wine, but this time we had the Ommegang Three Philosophers…hmmm, maybe I could have tried a beer sauce…next time! 🙂

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

