Freshly Picked Raspberries Tart

As promised, here is the first recipe with raspberries. I was very tired after waking up at 5:30 am to go raspberry picking, so I wanted a relatively fast recipe, that won’t require a trip to the store and that will taste delicious of course πŸ™‚ I looked up the raspberry recipes in the Bon Appetit and Cooks Illustrated cookbook and the tart from Cooks Illustrated seemed to fit my needs the best. I love to make my own crust, but if you want to speed up the process you can probably make do with a store bought crust. The recipe called for instant flour and since I didn’t have any, I looked online for the best substitution. Some websites claimed you can’t substitute it, but of course you can!!!, at least in this recipe that is πŸ™‚ I had cornstarch, arrowroot and tapioca pearls and flour and ended up using the tapioca pearls. I read cornstarch is better for dairy, but arrowroot is better for acidic mixtures…what to do when you have an acidic dairy mix? Well, I just decided to use tapioca since this is usually what I use when making my pies and it worked great, but I am sure you can pick whatever starch you want.

Ingredients (one 9 inch tart):

  • 1 pie crust (I used the on from this recipe)
  • 6 Tb unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup + sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp Grand Marnier or other liquor
  • grated zest from 1/2 lime
  • 1-2 tsp lime juice
  • 1 Tb tapioca pearls (or 2 Tb instant flour)
  • 2 Tb almond milk (or cream)
  • 2 cups raspberries

Preheat oven to 375 F. Start by pre-baking your crust for ~30 min or until it’s golden, turning it half way through. Let crust cool completely. Place raspberries on the bottom of the shell.

When, the crust is almost cold, start making the tart mix. First, melt the butter on medium heat and keep it on the heat stirring occasionally until it’s brown (~7-10min). Pour butter in a bowl and let it cool. Whisk eggs until combined, add sugar (add more sugar if the raspberries are not very sweet) and salt and whisk until it becomes white-ish (1-2min). Whisk in the butter, vanilla, liquor, lime zest and juice, followed by the tapioca pearls and the milk. Pour the mix over the raspberries. Bake until the filling is set Β (~35 min) and the top is golden-brown. Some raspberries will start bubbling and they will still move a little bit when shaken, but don’t worry, they will get fixed in place when the tart cools.

Let cool for a few hours or overnight, slice it and enjoy it πŸ™‚

This was very yummy: Β nice buttery crust, light refreshing filling Β with mostly intact raspberries! The only time consuming part is waiting for the crust dough to chill and for the baked shell to cool, but otherwise it was pretty fast to make…and I had quite a bit of waiting time since I needed the raspberries to dry and freeze πŸ˜‰ I think the raspberries will probably cook down a lot more if the shell is not pre-baked, but it may be worth a try to speed up the process.

Any suggestions for what I should cook next with my raspberries? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freshly Picked Raspberries Tart

  1. Raspberry sauce served over chocolate cake.

  2. ChicFitChef says:

    This looks so yummy. Definitely want to try it but dunno what to do about sugar content…will report back! πŸ˜‰

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

