Bourbon Marinated Grilled Salmon

Salmon is one of my favorite fish so I was very excited when WSJ published the “Salmon, A Love Story” article. One of the recipes had a whiskey marinade that sounded really good, so as soon as I found some nice sockeye salmon I went ahead and gave it a try. I didn’t have Canadian whiskey, so I just substituted it with some Makers Mark. I served it with my favorite mango salsa and grilled corn on the cob.

Ingredients:

  • 1 big piece of wild sockeye salmon
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 2 Tb soy sauce
  • 3 Tb bourbon
  • 1 Tb brown sugar
  • 1 -2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • a few drops of hot sauce

Whisk together all the marinade ingredients and place in a ziploc bag. Add salmon fillet and let marinate overnight.

Next day, heat the grill to medium-hot. Remove salmon from the marinade and grill skin side down for about 5 minutes. Next, the recipe said to remove the salmon from the skin and flip it onto the skin to finish cooking (~3 minutes). This worked very well (well, the salmon tried to slide sideways a bit, but I corrected it :-)). I will definitely try this again next time I cook fish. There is nothing worse than your beautiful piece of fish getting stuck to the grill!

Remove from the grill and serve with your favorite side(s)!

This was super fast, very delicious and pretty. I love the color of the sockeye 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bourbon Marinated Grilled Salmon

  1. Oh my, check out that pretty pink color! I must find sockeye in NC! Great job 🙂

  2. How can you go wrong with Makers Mark and salmon? Wonderful dish.

  3. Fantastic! So beautiful….and the recipe for the mango salsa?

  4. yummm! i have some salmon in the freezer right now! and i always have bourbon on hand 😉 looks great, thanks for the recipe!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

