Happy Birthday, Julia Child!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Somehow, I missed the fact that Julia Child’s 100th birthday was coming up, and I don’t have a recipe to post today. I promise I will post one soon! Since I didn’t grow up in this country, I was not very familiar with Julia Child until the movie Julie and Julia.  While, it wasn’t the greatest movie ever, I truly enjoyed seeing Julia and Julie cook… plus Meryl Streep was phenomenal! I now own three Julia Child books and her Mastering the Art of French Cooking is the most used cookbook in my kitchen. I tend to find most of my recipes online, but when it comes to classics, fancy buttery dishes and how to tackle a new vegetable or butchering something, Julia’s book is an invaluable source of information. While some of her recipes require way too many pots and way too much butter :-), Reine de Saba is my all time favorite cake and her rabbit and lobster thermidor are probably some of the best dishes I cooked.

Since I don’t have a new recipe (yet!), here are links to some of the Julia’s recipes I’ve posted so far:

Galettes au Camembert

Bifteck Sauté Marchand de Vins avec Gratin Dauphinois

Mousseline au Chocolat

Reine de Saba avec Glaçage au Chocolat

Bon Appetit! 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

