Angel Food Cupcakes

 

I had some leftover egg whites from a cake I made last week (which I haven’t had time to post yet) so I decided to make some angel food cupcakes since they’re light and I figured will go well with some fresh fruit…perfect summer dessert! I was a bit concerned they will sink since the cake is usually flipped upside down, but these didn’t sink too much and they kept their light and airy texture. I served them with freshly whipped whipping cream and blackberries πŸ˜‰

Ingredients (8-12, adapted from thekitchn):

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tb water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup cake flour
  • 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • whipped cream and blackberries (optional)

Heat oven to 325. Line muffin pan with cupcake sieves. Sift flour, confectioner’s sugar and salt in a small bowl. Beat egg whites with water, cream of tartar until foamy, then increase speed and beat in the sugar. Beat until stiff peaks form (check while beating to see when you get to soft peaks and then check from time to time until stiff peaks form, but that they still bend). Beating the egg whites to the right consistency is crucial for angel food desserts and the time depends on the type of mixer and the speed (different mixers have different medium speed) so I find it best to keep checking the peaks and not worry about the time. Of course, you don’t want to over beat the egg whites, so if it takes too long to even form the soft peaks, the eggs might be bad. Unfortunately, I was too worried about my egg whites not deflating and I didn’t take any pictures 😦

Carefully fold in the sifted flour-sugar mixture making sure not to deflate the egg whites, but also that everything is folded in (I used a measuring cup to slowly and uniformly drop the flour mixture over the egg whites in 3 batches). Fill the cupcake sieves ~ 3/4 with the batter. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until the tops are golden. Mine took 21 minutes in my convection oven. You may want to start checking around 15 minutes.

Let cool and serve with your favorite toppings or just as they are, since they’re delicious by themselves! I served mine with whipped cream, blackberries and this blackberry gin fizz cocktail…yum!

I forgot how tasty and light angel food desserts are. These literally melt in your mouth! One last picture:

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Angel Food Cupcakes

  1. yum! i always have egg whites leftover from making ice cream or lemon curd… i freeze them. i never thought of making them into cupcakes, but why not!

    • every time I have leftover egg whites I think about angel food desserts, but most of the time I either forget about them or just throw them in an omelette. I haven’t thought about freezing them. Can you still use them in desserts after thawing them?

      • you can make desserts from frozen and thawed egg whites. however, it changes their texture a bit, so it isn’t always the best for whipping… i suppose it depends on the freshness of the eggs and how long they are frozen? i found this http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/796976 and this http://www.joyofbaking.com/eggs.html to be helpful πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the links! yeah, I figured some of the albumin might denature during the freezing/thawing process and since I always dream of angel food cake or meringues, I didn’t dare to freeze them. However, one of personal resolution is to get better at freezing food to reduce waste so maybe my freezer will get to hang out with some egg whites in the future πŸ™‚

  2. ohhh yes, you chemist you! right? you probably know better than i do how freezing them would affect them. i personally like your idea of making them into omlettes in the meantime! πŸ™‚

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

