Grilled Lobster Tails with Cilantro Lime Compound Butter

I bought two lobster tails while they were on sale several weeks ago and they’ve just been sitting in my freezer for the entire time. Since they made it all the way to the grilling season, I decided to give the grill a chance 😉

We made compound butter a few years ago at a French cooking class and I’ve been thinking about making some for a while now, but never got to it. Butter is the perfect companion for lobster so I decided to give the tails a bit more flavor by using a cilantro-lime compound butter. I love cilantro and I had a mini-panic attack when I got to one of the big supermarkets by me and there was no cilantro!!! I don’t think I could live without cilantro 🙂 I am always afraid that one of these days our dear harvesters will go on strike and we will be left without avocado or worse without cilantro…that will be a terrible terrible thing! Thankfully, the other big supermarket chain within walking distance from my apartment had some cilantro and I could go ahead and make my butter 😉

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 2 frozen lobster tails, thawed
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 2 Tb lime juice
  • salt and pepper
  • for the butter: 4 Tb unsalted butter at room temperature, 1 Tb lime juice, 3 Tb chopped cilantro, pinch of salt

Start by making the butter.

Basically, you mix everything together and using a spatula you try to convince the lime juice to incorporate into the butter. While it seemed impossible at times, I persevered and eventually (10-15min) I got it to work! Wrap and chill.

For the lobster tails, you just have to split them in half. I used kitchen scissors for this to make it a little bit easier. Mix the olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper and brush it onto the tails.

Heat the grill to medium-high. Grill the tails for 5-7 minutes, flipping them once and brushing with more oil mix. Remove and serve with the compound butter.

These were very tasty and I really liked the compound butter. I used some on grilled corn as well and it was delicious! I am happy I gave it a try 😉

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grilled Lobster Tails with Cilantro Lime Compound Butter

  1. sani panini says:

    Okay, I love everything about this post!!

  2. ChicFitChef says:

    I haven’t been by to visit in awhile and this is what I find?! Looks delicious, kudos! 🙂

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

