Best Blueberry Crumb Cake ever – with a bit of Rhubarb


Last Saturday (yes, I know I am behind in posting), I had a terrible CTA (Chicago Transit Authority) day. They switched the platforms for the trains and they didn’t bother to let me know until the train was pulling out of the station, which made me get to work late, miss the time window to see Magic Mike with some girlfriends, attendant was a jerk, etc. Anyways, nothing fixes CTA frustrations like a nice relaxing baking night πŸ™‚

The supermarket had a big container of blueberries so I decided to bake a blueberry dessert for the Euro Cup Final viewing. I’ve made a few blueberry desserts, but none have tasted better than this cake I made a few years ago from SmittenKitchen, which was adapted from All Recipes. I am not sure if it’s the lemon juice and zest or the butter, but this cake is delicious! If you have some blueberries around your fridge, you have to make this πŸ™‚ I’ve kept the ingredients the same, except that I added a half cup of chopped rhubarb that I had leftover from the salmon salsa.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 lemon (zested and juiced)
  • 4 cups blueberries
  • 1/2 cup diced rhubarb
  • 4 tsp cornstarch

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease the baking pan.

Rinse the fruit and make sure you don’t eat too many of the blueberries πŸ™‚ Mix with the lemon juice, cornstarch and 1/2 cup sugar.

Mix the flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut in the butter using a pastry blender. Mix in the egg. Pat dough half the dough in the baking pan.

Add the berries and rhubarb.

Crumble the leftover dough over the berries.

Cover all the berries.

Bake until the top is golden and the blueberries start bubbling (~40 minutes in my convection oven).Β Let cool, cut up and try not too eat too many! These are addicting πŸ™‚Β 

I didn’t let mine turn too golden and the berries kept their shape, for the most part. Last time I made it, I baked it longer and then the berries disintegrated a lot more. I personally liked that the berries kept their shape more this time πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Blueberry Crumb Cake ever – with a bit of Rhubarb

  1. brendendarby says:

    Awesome idea that sounds delicious

  2. r5wafunimiw1977 says:

    Reblogged this on Nicole Ferentz Pad.

  3. Pingback: You can call me Dr. windy kitchen | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

