Broiled Salmon with Rhubarb Salsa

This weekend I realized that I haven’t been cooking much lately. I have been trying to exercise more and after getting home at 8pm after a spin class, all I can manage is making a tomato-feta salad and call it a dinner šŸ™‚

One of the supermarkets had the wild alaskan sockeye salmon in stock, so I picked up a piece for dinner on Saturday. Is it just me, or the “color added” sign on the farmed salmon just got more noticeable? While, I have nothing against good chemicals (I am a chemist after all :-)), I am little put off by this sign. I don’t understand why you need to add the color especially know since the supermarkets have to have the “farmed” sign on the seafood.

I really wanted a light and healthy meal, so I just made a quick salsa with some ingredients I already had in the fridge. Here is what I used:

  • 1 piece salmon
  • salt, pepper, olive oil and lime juice
  • 1/2 cup diced rhubarb
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 1 Tb diced onion
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 jalapeƱo (make sure you don’t pick the hottest one ever!!!)
  • 1 Tb oil
  • 1 Tb Agave Maple syrup or honey
  • juice from 1/2 lime

Preheat broiler. Rub salmon with salt, pepper, olive oil and a bit of lemon juice. Place on a oiled baking sheet skin side down.

For the salsa, chop everything, mix together and let it sit for 10-15 minutes for the flavors to blend. So, for the past year or more, jalapeƱos have been very mild so I didn’t think that I picked the hottest one ever until my left hand started burning!!! When did jalapeƱos go back to being spicy again? I am usually careful when chopping habaneros, but I never take any precautions with the jalapeƱos. And unfortunately, once the oils soak into the skin, nothing can really relieve the pain and trust me I tried everything! The spice is oil soluble, so I did a vegetable oil wash followed by dish detergent (which can get rid of oils). I tried rubbing alcohol as well, bath oils, lotion (it is oily so it can dissolve some of the oils as well) to no avail…well, there was some temporary relief, but not long lasting. Thankfully, I just chopped half of it so I was fine by the next morning.

While the salsa is sitting, broil your salmon for 5-10 minutes (7 for mine) or until it flakes easily. Serve with salsa on the side (mine was too spicy to top the salmon with :D).

Have a fun and safe holiday šŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broiled Salmon with Rhubarb Salsa

  1. Your rhubarb and cucumber sounds amazing, even if it does include a jalapeƱo which is hotter than the surface of the sun. Thanks for sharing the great recipe

  2. Pingback: Best Blueberry Crumb Cake ever – with a bit of Rhubarb | the windy kitchen

  3. it’s so frustrating to get the super-hot jalapeno! i feel like some-are-hot, some-are-not… sometimes i need to add three or four to a dish, other times — less than one is over the top. i feel your pain — and i always seem to get that burn where my fingernails meet my skin. ouch! this sounds really delicious, i havent cooked salmon in forever. thanks for the inspiration šŸ™‚

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

