Feta Tart with Tomatoes Cucumber Salad

Since I first saw this recipe in Saveur’s, I knew I had to make it. After all, I love feta cheese! This was featured as a side dish, but I decided to make it a main dish and serve it with a tomato cucumber salad since I love the tomato-feta combination. I found a small farmers market in my neighborhood and went this weekend to pick up some delicious tomatoes and cucumbers.

This weekend has been quite busy with helping one of my friends cook for a Hawaiian birthday party (the bday boy roasted a pig!), a cake decorating class and work, the tart was left for Monday night. Thankfully, it is so easy to make that it is perfect for an easy weeknight dinner 😉

Ingredients (makes a 9 inch tart):

  • 3 Tb olive oil
  • 1 tsp vodka
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tb flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 150 g bulgarian feta crumbled
  • 1 Tb butter
  • for the salad: 1 tomato, 1 cucumber, 1 Tb chopped onion, 1 Tb olive oil, salt and pepper

Heat up oven to 450 F (the recipe asks for 500, but my convection oven only goes to 450 for baking). Place the baking dish into the oven while you make the dough. For the dough, whisk together 1 Tb oil, vodka and egg. Whisk in the flour, salt and baking powder. 

Remove the pan from the oven and oil it with the remaining oil. Add the dough and top it with the feta and butter. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden.

While the tart is baking, make the salad by chopping the tomatoes, slicing the cucumbers and seasoning it with salt, pepper and olive oil. 

I love a simple tomato salad in the summer when tomatoes actually taste like tomatoes. This went great with the feta tart!

While I missed the perfect lightning for my pictures, I did get a chance of seeing the nice sunset from my apartment. I love it when I make it home on time to watch the sunset. 

And the post sunset sky was gorgeous as well!

I love summer: delicious tomatoes, beautiful sunsets and sun! 🙂

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feta Tart with Tomatoes Cucumber Salad

  1. This sounds so good!.. Love your serving idea with the tomato salad. i’m headed to my farmer’s market in a few minutes, I hope they’ve got great tomatoes!

  2. We love feta and it would go beautifully with the salad. Nice!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

