Salata Orientala (Potato Salad) with Perfectly Boiled Eggs

I love grilling season, and one of my favorite side dishes is the Romanian version of the potato salad. Why do I like the Romanian one best? Well, it’s probably because it has no mayo and it feels more refreshing with the vinegar and pickles…it just feels like a better pairing for the freshly grilled juicy sausages…well, to me at least ๐Ÿ™‚ As I probably mentioned before, in the Romanian cuisine we tend to cook food for a looong time and as a consequence, my boiled eggs are always overcooked. I think it’s also because usually I lose my patience waiting for the eggs to boil and I just start doing something else and completely forget about it…but not this time ๐Ÿ˜‰ย I decided it is about time to learn how to perfectly boil an egg. I followed American Test Kitchen’s recommendations and the eggs turned out perfectly boiled.

You can adjust the ratios of the ingredients to your tasting, but here is what I used:

Ingredients:

  • 4 big red potatoes
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 green onions
  • 5 springs dill
  • 10 pickles
  • 2 Tb vegetable oil
  • 4-5 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Start by boiling your eggs and potatoes. I put the eggs in a sauce pan, covered them with about 1 inch of water and let it come to a boil. After that, I covered the pot with a lid, removed it from heat and let it sit for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, I put the eggs in cold water until they were cool enough to be peeled. I boiled the potatoes in salty water until easily pierced with a fork. Eggs looked great with no green rings ๐Ÿ˜‰

Peel the potatoes and eggs. Chop all the ingredients and mix with the oil and vinegar. The red potatoes crumbled a bit more than I would have liked them to so I may use different potatoes next time.ย Season with salt and pepper. Let it chill overnight in the fridge. You can of course have it warm, but I prefer it chilled, which also gives time to the vinegar to soak a bit into the potatoes. You can use white vinegar if you don’t like the balsamic coloring ๐Ÿ˜‰

What is your go to side dish for BBQs?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salata Orientala (Potato Salad) with Perfectly Boiled Eggs

  1. Pingback: You can call me Dr. windy kitchen | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

