Rhubarb Strawberry Scones


It has taken me quite a bit of time to decide what will be my first dish for the blog after my long absence and I have finally settled onto making rhubarb strawberry scones. Usually, my go to pastry for breakfast from coffee shops is a blueberry muffin, but this bakery by work most of the time has no blueberry muffins (it’s a strangely run bakery that makes whatever they want and never stock up on breakfast staples) so I would have to settle for a blueberry scone. While I love blueberries, rhubarb is finally in season so I decided to use it instead and add some strawberries for a little more sweetness, granted that the ones I got from the store were not that sweet. I discovered rhubarb a few years ago when it came in my FreshPicks produce basket, and by pure luck I discarded the leaves since I had no idea they were poisonous (well, only in very high doses) at the time 🙂 I got overwhelmed again with the amount of recipes for scones online, so I just adapted a recipe for basic scones for my favorite dessert blog.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup diced rhubarb (1 big stalk)
  • 1 cup diced strawberries
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbs butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream + a little more for brushing

Preheat oven to 400F. Line baking sheet with wax paper and start dicing the fruit. It looked so pretty!

 

I decided to pour the sugar over the fruit since as I mentioned my strawberries were not that sweet. Mix the other dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Cut in the butter using a pastry blender until in resembles coarse meal. Add the fruit to the flour mixture. Beat the egg in a separate bowl (or use the one from the fruit) and add the cream to it. Stir it in the flour mix. 

 

Knead the dough on a floured surface and make it into a 1-1 1/2 inch big circle. Using a knife (ideally dusted in flour so it doesn’t get sticky like mine :)), cut the dough into wedges. I went for eights, but these turned out a big big, so in the ended I had 5 giant scones and 6 regular ones. Arrange them on the baking sheet about 1 inch apart, brush with some cream, and bake until golden, about 15-20 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

These turned out delicious and just sweet enough. I love the rhubarb in them and next time I will probably use more, and maybe even skip the strawberries 🙂

What’s your favorite breakfast treat?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rhubarb Strawberry Scones

  1. Margie says:

    I’ll have to try these. Rhubarb grows like a weed in my part of the world!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

