Manchego and Black Grape Salad

My dear readers, thank you for keep reading my blog despite my absence. As I have mentioned, I am going through a rough time at work. To make a long story short, I am trying to synthesize and characterize some sugars by the end of this week and it is a very hard deadline. Please enjoy buying the sugar in the store, and don’t ever think about making your own disaccharides synthetically since it is very time consuming and tedious. If I wouldn’t enjoy sweets so much, I would give up sugar forever!!! I guess I could still eat glucose, since so far, it is the best behaved carbohydrate I have worked with πŸ™‚ Let’s hope it will keep behaving for the rest of this week !

After making the strawberry spinach salad, I started thinking about other fruit I could use and I concluded that black grapes would go well with the manchego I had in the fridge. I am also thinking about a salad with pears, but I haven’t found any nice ripe pears, probably because it’s not the season for them yet. The grapes went very well with the manchego and the dressing I made for it…sometimes I am afraid that the combinations I come up in my head, might not taste well on the plate, but fortunately it hasn’t been the case yet πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • a few cups salad mix
  • a handful of grapes sliced in half
  • manchego shavings or thin slices
  • 1-2 Tb dressing: 2 Tb lemon olive oil, 1 Tb champagne vinegar, salt, 1 Tb minced onion

Mix everything. Top with dressing. Enjoy as a main dish or side. I served this with a Spanish tortilla with turkey bacon (I bought a 3 pack for cheap and I have to use it :)).

When I made the dressing, it tasted a bit sour, but it went great with the sweetness of the grapes! I bought some lemon olive oil from the Old Town oil company in Chicago to use for dressings and you could really taste the lemon, so I would recommend adding a bit of lemon juice to the dressing if using regular olive oil. The flavored oils and vinegars are very nice, but I found that you have to be careful combining them. If I use the lemon oil with the tangerine vinegar I also bought at the store, all the citrus kick disappears into a weak oily dressing, which is a bit disappointing. I guess I should have tasted them mixed together in the store πŸ™‚

Do you use flavored oils/vinegars for salad dressings?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manchego and Black Grape Salad

  1. tanyamhudson says:

    Love the sweet-salty-tangy combination!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

