Zucchini Poppyseed Muffins

I’ve been wanting to make muffins for a while now, mostly so I can use my cute muffin pan :-), but also since usually I don’t have time/patience to make breakfast in the morning. I was thinking about poppyseed muffins after I bought them for the salad dressing, but then I saw some nice fresh zucchinis at the store and decided to use them as well. It is usually believed that for baking you have to follow precise directions, and it is probably true for the more troublesome cakes, but these muffins are proof that you can improvise and still get tasty baked goods 🙂

Ingredients (makes ~12):

  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tb poppy seeds
  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 Tb baking powder

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grate your zucchini. 

Beat the butter with the sugar until fluffy. Beat in the egg, the sour cream and the vanilla. Stir in the zucchini. 

Mix in the flours and baking powder. 

Line muffin pan with paper cups. Fill them up with batter. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until the tops are golden and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. I didn’t fill them up the first time, so I got some short muffins 🙂 

But I fixed it the second time around 😉 

Let them cool for about 20 minutes. Enjoy! These turned out tasty and very moist, and seeing the green zucchini when bitting into them makes me feel a bit better about my morning eating habits 🙂

Do you like zucchini in your sweets?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zucchini Poppyseed Muffins

  1. Picky Niki says:

    That is a cute muffin pan! These are now on my list … as soon as my garden starts producing. Or if it does. I seem to be the only gardener in the world with a sad zucchini output.

  2. tanyamhudson says:

    What a cute muffin pan! And zucchini is starting to come in ’round these parts, too. Might just have to try this soon!

  3. Desi Chick says:

    My search for zucchini has brought me to you (great blog!) Cute muffin pan and a great recipe. I have a question though, any particular reason for the almond flour? Does it improve texture or moisture?

    • when my friend was diagnosed with celiacs, the first thing she baked were some zucchini muffins with almond flour (mixed with other gluten free flours) and I really liked the taste of the almond with the zucchini. you can replace it with 1/2-3/4 cup all purpose flour if you don’t have any. If you want to buy it, Trader Joe’s has it for $3-4 a bag, which is a lot cheaper than in the gluten free aisle of other supermarkets!

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

