Refreshing Spinach-Strawberry Salad with Homemade Poppy Seed dressing

Last week, I spent a lot of time dining at restaurants, and while it was fun hanging out with friends, I definitely felt the need for some fresh salad in my life. I didn’t get to it until a week later, but better late than never as they say 🙂 I’ve been (and still am) pretty busy socially with Romanian events, goodbye parties, bday dinners, etc and work has been busy too, which has made it a bit harder to focus on cooking. When I am tired and don’t have a plan, I get distracted in the grocery store and usually end up with just some random veggies and fruit. This is why now, whenever I have some free time during the day, I save a shopping list on my phone for good measure 🙂 I’ve been craving a spinach strawberry salad for a few days now, and after going to two grocery stores, I finally had all the ingredients. It took some commitment this salad, mainly because poppy seeds seem hard to find (TJ doesn’t carry them), and especially hard to find for under $7-10 for a small jar. Somehow it didn’t feel right spending 3 times more on the seeds than on a bottle of organic pre-made dressing 😉

If you’re still reading, here are the ingredients!

Ingredients (serves 1):

  • a few cups organic baby spinach
  • 4-5 strawberries sliced
  • 1-2 Tb toasted almonds
  • poppy seed dressing (2 Tb olive oil, 1 Tb champagne vinegar, 1 Tb sugar, 1 tsp sea salt, 1/2 tsp paprika, 2 tsp minced onion, 1 tsp poppy seeds, 1/2 tsp sesame seeds)

Start by preparing the dressing. Whisk together the first 5 ingredients. Stir in the onion and the seeds. Makes enough for 2-3 salads depending on how much dressing you like on your greens 😉

Arrange your spinach, strawberries and almonds on a plate. Spoon some of the dressing over and enjoy!

This salad was all I’ve been dreaming about for the past week. Luckily, I got a good batch of strawberries, which made it even better 🙂 The dressing was so much better than the store-made one, but maybe it’s because because I don’t like creamy dressings. Regardless of what type of dressing you prefer, it’s always better to make it at home where you can control what goes in and adjust the quantities to your taste 😉

Happy Easter to all non-orthodox bloggers/readers! I have to wait one more week to indulge in some tasty Easter dishes. Maybe we will all need some fresh salads after the Easter feasts 😉

What’s your favorite salad/dressing?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Refreshing Spinach-Strawberry Salad with Homemade Poppy Seed dressing

  1. Sounds delicious! I love spinach and strawberries!

  2. Purely.. Kay says:

    I usually don’t eat fruit with my salad.. but this actually looks very appetizing. I may have to give this a go 🙂

  3. Pingback: Zucchini Poppyseed Muffins | the windy kitchen

  4. Pingback: Manchego and Black Grape Salad | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

