Super-moist Spicy Chicken Thighs with Rhubarb-less Cucumber Salsa

I’ve only discovered rhubarb a few years ago when it showed up in my FreshPicks basket and I had to figure out what to do with it. I’ve done cobblers and used it with strawberries in mini-pies, but I haven’t used it in a non-dessert so far. Then I saw this recipe on Bon Appetit and seemed perfect for an easy quick dinner. Unfortunately, the rhubarb was nowhere to be found!!! I first when to Dominick’s, then sent my fiance to Jewel, the Asian produce store, the tiny Mexican convenience store, I even called another Jewel and the produce store in my neighborhood, but couldn’t find any rhubarb. You can’t even imagine how disappointed I was 😦 But life moves on, and we had to eat, so since I had all the other ingredients I proceeded with the recipe.

I used a serrano pepper (the habaneros looked a bit sad), gluten free soy sauce, and juice from half a lime, but otherwise I followed the instructions almost exactly. The salsa was good just with the cucumber, but next time I will probably use less honey and more lime juice for a more refreshing taste. And I promise you, there will be a next time as soon as I can get my hands on a piece of rhubarb 🙂 The chicken turned out very moist and the flavors were great. I had the leftovers for lunch with some rice and Korean hot pepper paste and it tasted just as great 😉 This recipe is definitely a keeper!

Has anyone found any rhubarb this season? What’s your favorite rhubarb recipe?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

