Pasta with Shrimp and Asparagus

I have to admit that I don’t always take advantage of the ease to prepare pasta dishes.  I tend to collect boxes and boxes of pasta and after using them once, let them accumulate dust (well, not quite since the cupboards are closed :-)) in the back of the cupboards. Luckily, I did remember my pasta collection when trying to figure out what to do with the last several spears of asparagus that I had chillin’ in the fridge. I almost always have shrimp in my freezer since I love to grill it, so this was an easy choice for a partner to the asparagus, but of course you can choose to use other animal, or more veggies 😉

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 2 cups pasta
  • 1 lb shrimp (mine was frozen, shell-on)
  • 1-2 Tbsp oil
  • several asparagus spears
  • 1 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper, ground
  • 1/2-1 cup white wine
  • salt & pepper
  • cheese (I used TJ’s Shaved Parmesan, Asiago and Romano blend)

Start by thawing and cleaning the shrimp. I had to remove the shells, devein and butterfly mine, but it didn’t take too long. I placed the frozen shrimp in a bowl of water to speed up the thawing process. I seasoned my shrimp with salt, pepper, vegetable oil, garlic paste and ground cayenne and I let it marinate for 10-15 minutes to absorb the flavors. Meanwhile, I snapped the asparagus ends, cut it into 1-2″ pieces and also started cooking my pasta.

Heat up 1 Tbsp of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the shrimp and cook for a few minutes, then add the asparagus. Cook until the shrimp is all pink (no more grey-ish spots).

Add the white wine and let boil for a few minutes, while scraping down the pan. Add the strained pasta and mix until it’s all covered with the sauce. Plate, top with cheese and serve immediately with a glass of white wine 🙂

This was a delicious pasta dish, light and with just enough spice. I will definitely be making it again, unless I forget about the pasta in the mean time 😉

How often do you turn to pasta for a quick dinner?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pasta with Shrimp and Asparagus

  1. geoffhom says:

    Wow, Andreea, your blog makes me want to visit you. Did you cook like this at Caltech?! And, yes, I have some pasta that I should really use soon, too. Gluten-free pasta that were gifts. (I was on a gluten-free diet for awhile.)

  2. geoffhom says:

    Great blog, Andreea! It makes me really want to visit you now! =) Did you cook like this at Caltech, too?!

    • I didn’t cook quite like this at Caltech. I started cooking more when my sister came to visit since she was such a picky eater back then that it was a waste of money taking her to the restaurant 🙂 It is much easier to cook decent meals in grad school when there are no problem sets to struggle with! Plus, the kitchen is one place where I can relax and forget the troubles of graduate life 😉

  3. Pingback: Chicken and Mushroom Pasta Dinner | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

