Bacon Wrapped Asparagus with Hoisin Dipping Sauce

I think it was about two weeks ago (I know, I am behind in posting), when I went to the grocery store to quickly buy some groceries when I saw the first batch of spring asparagus!!! I was so excited that if I were a puppy I would have probably wiggled my tail in delight ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know why, but this is the image that popped into my head when I saw the asparagus! I love asparagus by itself, but I had a pack of bacon in the fridge that was getting close to its expiration date and I decided to wrap it in bacon. To lighten it up a bit, I made a hoisin sauce. I swear I had a recipe for this sauce, but I couldn’t find it for the life of me so I ended up just mixing different things and tasting as I went. Don’t worry, I made sure to write down the proportions in case you need a starting point ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb asparagus
  • 16 oz bacon
  • 3 Tb Hoisin sauce
  • 1 Tb rice vinegar
  • 1 Tb soy sauce
  • 1 Tb sambal
  • 2 Tb water

Preheat oven to 400F. Rinse asparagus and snap the ends. Wrap in bacon, either individually or as a bunch depending on how much bacon you have or how thick your asparagus is.ย 

Arrange in a roasting pan (you can use a baking sheet as well, but my bacon was a bit fatty and I wanted the fat to drain). Sprinkle with pepper.ย 

Bake for 10-15 minutes or until bacon is cooked. Meanwhile, make the sauce by mixing all the ingredients in a bowl.ย 

Serve warm with the dipping sauce on the side.ย 

These were so delicious, but I did feel like there was a bit too much bacon, if there can ever be too much bacon ๐Ÿ™‚ I ended up chopping some and using them in an omelette! I just bought a new batch of asparagus and I am very excited to cook it this weekend!

Anyone else getting excited about asparagus cooking?

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bacon Wrapped Asparagus with Hoisin Dipping Sauce

  1. Purely.. Kay says:

    Bacon wrapped anything definitely gets me excited lol. I love bacon and I love the hoisin sauce that accompanies this dish. Delish

  2. Thank you! Bacon definitely makes everything taste better ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: A Few Thanksgiving Suggestions | the windy kitchen

please leave comments/feedback/advice :-)

